Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-21-2016, 04:43 PM   #1

Unhappy Newbie TROUBLE!! Help! '99 Pace Arrow Vision Coach Electrical ~

Hi,

TOTAL newbie here....I'm going to say some dumb things, so please bare with me. And if you can provide any help, don't be afraid to "talk down to me," because I truly know nothing and won't be insulted. Lol

First trip we took a week ago (for 2 nights) went rather smoothly.

Today, we returned from 2nd trip and we had PROBLEMS...and have no idea how to remedy....

The RV has been parked at home with shore power since we got it 2 weeks ago, with the exception of the two short trips. I ran shore power while at home because I believed (either rightly or wrongly) that that was allowing the fridge to work and coach lights.

First thing we noticed this weekend (shortly after we left home) was that we couldn't get the genny to stay on (Onan). Had no trouble the weekend before. We had full tank of gas.

The lights and fridge was running so we figured that we'd figure out the genny problem when we got to the destination.

When we got to our destination, filled up gas tank again, and tried genny again. It would start, stay on for a few minutes, and then turn off.

Then the coach interior lights started dimming, so I turned them off, and then we lost coach power. Fridge off, too.

We called Allstate roadside assistance for RVs and someone came but he didn't know a lot and he tried to get the genny running...he had the same problems...start and then stop. Allstate guy suggested that the genny's carburetor is dirty.