Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-11-2012, 03:57 PM   #1

Newbies common mistakes

Hello Everyone,
I am new to the RV community and I would first like to thank everyone for the information I have gleaned from this forum. It has been extremely helpful so far and I am sure I will learn a lot more in the future.

I had been entertaining the idea of taking extended RV trips for many years. Most of the places I want to go and the things I want to do and see are generally away from civilization. My wife (I see DW a lot and think it means dear wife but I am not completely sure) and I will be taking at least a year off of work and probably more beginning next spring. We are in the process of making the list of potential destinations and I am reading all I can on everything.

I had been planning on going the Class C route until I read numerous recommendations to consider a Class A. When we broadened our scope to include both classes we found that there was often a lot more content without spending a lot more money. In the end we went with a new Georgetown 335. It has a floorplan we really like and for the money we are spending it seems like a pretty complete package.

My plan is to start out with a few short trips close to home to get acclimated and work out any bugs in both us and the motorhome.

So here is the question; what are the typical dumb things a newbie will do or forget to do that I should be aware of. I want to avoid being the campground entertainment for the first
few trips.

Thanks,
Barry