Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2015, 09:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Newmar trumpet horn

I can't get my trumpet horn in my '96 Newmar to work, the steering column button activates the stock "car" horn under the hood. The air horn switch on the panel does nothing. Help me make my grandkids happy! (fuse is good)
__________________

__________________
pauliwogb is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2015, 01:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 758
At some point, while at an RVPark or campground in the middle of the night or while you were sightseeing, a covert tactical response team of commandos disabled it!

It used to be that motorhome air-horn owners would very arrogantly and proudly toot their horns, (and occasionally wear a captain's hat), as they rolled out of their site at 4:30 a.m. to hit the road!

Then, sometime in the mid 90s' it became an embarrassment to use the horn, as more people were very likely to give you the one finger salute, and/or throw bacon drippings and rotting vegetables out of your camera's view, (and call the management and/or local police to complain), as you rolled out.

If you do manage to get it working, please never use it within a mile/kilometer of an RVPark or campground, ever. The commandos are ever vigilant.
__________________

__________________
BeachDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 02:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
stratob377's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: western NY
Posts: 133
Hi Paul! I'm not sure about the 96's and how they work. Our 99 the airhorn switch on the dash is tied into the car horn button on the steering wheel. So all the switch on the dash does is either airhorn off, or air horn with car horn combined. Try looking under the "hood" and see if you can find the solenoid for the air horn tube. Drivers side near the back of the head light assembly. I know I may not even be close with your coach layout, but hopefully this gets you closer.

Aaron
__________________
99 DSDP 3865 Cat 300, 06 Acura TL via dolly
stratob377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 02:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,467


Glad to have you here with us.

If the switch and fuse are okay you may want to look at the horn's solenoid. Also I don't know about other units but my air horns will not blow with the engine not running.

Best of luck!
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 12:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
DD788Snipe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 914
What strato377 . When you find the solenoid you might try changing the solderless connectors. Mine were corroded. Changed those out and the Ship's whistle worked just fine.
__________________

Craig & Carolyn Roberts Apple Valley, CA
2006 Newmar 3910 KSDP 400 ISL Cummins Spartan Mountian Master Chassis
Toad: 2017 GMC Canyon 4X4 Crewcab
DD788Snipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:01 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
Do you have air pressure in the tanks?
__________________

__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newmar



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newmar admits sensor mount problem Algoma Newmar Owner's Forum 21 11-05-2015 07:53 PM
Newmar & Everyone Else construction Steady_Rest Newmar Owner's Forum 1 03-25-2015 08:47 AM
Normal Operation of Newmar Slides and a FWS Difference "007" Newmar Owner's Forum 47 02-23-2015 11:14 AM
Air horn dilemma smlranger Country Coach Owners Forum 8 05-07-2014 06:27 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.