Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2011, 07:59 PM   #1
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,853
No 110v power in 2011 Revolution

As our Aqua Hot diesel won't work, and we wanted to be in the coach, I had the Aqua Hot electric element on and had plugged in two small electric space heaters. A few hours later I go out to the coach and I have no 110 to ANY of the outlets.

One of the two inverter panels is reading "AC Overload". I called Coach Net, they had me check everything I already knew to check - all the (6) ground fault outlets, all the breakers (in the 110v breaker panel) and then try to reset that inverter. The inverter came right on but after about 5 seconds kicked off again.

The tech, I'm sure, rightly concluded that there is an open circuit someplace, but he had no idea where to look for it. They'll see if they can find a local service shop that can help and get back to me tomorrow morning.

In the meantime, I thought I'd check here. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-15-2011, 08:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,507
With 2 electric heaters going probably 20-25 amps how much power are you plugged in to?
__________________

__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:21 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,853
50 amps.
__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:47 PM   #4
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
J MOnroe,
Are the two space heaters plugged into different circuits? You probably are aware that several receptacles can all be on the same circuit.
So, here's my thougths that may or may not be correct.... Should the two space heaters be plugged into the same circuit that passes through the inverter when on shore power you could very easily be overloading that circuit. Different inverters have different amperage "pass through" amperage capabilities. So, my suggestion is to reduce the pass through load
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 06:32 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,853
Seems that every 110 outlet in the coach is on the same circuit. Every one is dead.
__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:08 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
Remove both heaters and turn off the electric hydrohot, then reset the inverter breaker (or reset button). Then try plugs. I can only use one heater on mine. All plugs are on one 20 amp circuit, except our bedroom slide, which is not on the inverter. Ours is a Monaco.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
The power limit through the inverter is considerably less than the overall power limit for the coach. In mine, it's 30amps no matter what. You were probably pulling more than that with the Aquahot elements and the space heaters. If you don't have any non-inverter outlets to plug the space heaters into, you'll need to run extension cords in from an outside source.

Look at your main breaker box, and see what size the breaker is that feeds the inverter.

joe
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:27 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: western wa.
Posts: 539
check circuit breakers on your genny.
__________________
2007 NRV DOLPHIN LX 6342

WORKHORSE W-22
cannon man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:53 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 191
You need to take a systematic approach trying to isloate the circuit that is open,

Turn all breakers off. Turn on the invertor ,if it does not trip, then turn each breaker on till the inverter breaker trips. That will tell which circuit to check.

I am not sure but is the invertor ground falted or any of the circuits ground faulted?

Loose connection on a white, ground or black wire will cause a breaker to trip on a ground fault.

Shore power polarity? Could be numerous causes, please let us know the cause of your problem and how it was repaired. I am keeping a log of these types repairs may save me lots nof time and money.

Best of luck.
__________________
Robert T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:02 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Gary1965's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 238
Could it be the fuse on the inverter? Had a similar problem, and that was the problem.
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
Gary1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,507
Can't hurt have you tried resetting 50amp breaker. Sometimes they look good but are thrown.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
rvjimmy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Almond, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,455
If you are plugged into 50 amps do you even need the inverter turned on. On my Newmar if I plug into shore power I don't use the inverter.
__________________
2002 Newmar Dutch Star DP3569 330 CAT - Toad Jeep Liberty, DW is the Nagivator. Work to travel and everything revolves around the price of diesel.
rvjimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:38 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvjimmy View Post
If you are plugged into 50 amps do you even need the inverter turned on. On my Newmar if I plug into shore power I don't use the inverter.
On my Monaco, the power still runs through the inverter when the inverted is off. I have blown several breakers there consuming more power than allowed.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 09:22 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
Jay,
We usually run 2 electric heaters and the electric element on the Hydro Hot for most of the winter and we have no trouble. It's usually when one of us forget and put something in the microwave that will trip the 30 amp breaker(marked “Inverter”) on the main AC electrical panel. Do you have a 2000 watt or greater inverter??
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pure Power opens Navistar engine research center in South Carolina DriVer Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum 0 01-26-2010 04:02 PM
Shore Power: Breaker Off before Connecting or Disconnecting Always-RVing MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 11-13-2009 05:10 PM
Shore Power sjcaldal11 Newmar Owner's Forum 4 02-10-2008 06:35 AM
Surge Gaurd no power to RV jk_and_dog Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 11-25-2007 05:16 PM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.