Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2016, 09:42 AM   #1
JSW
Senior Member
 
JSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galveston
Posts: 108
No 50 AMP

We are plugged into a good 50 AMP outlet but I am only receiving 30 AMPS. When I switch over to the genset I get full power. I've checked the outlet with my multi meter and it checks out good. Could the fault be with the transfer switch?
__________________

__________________
JSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-10-2016, 09:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,200
"It checks out good", what exactly does the test show? It must read according to this testing procedure. Click the "outlet testing" page.
Before suspecting the transfer switch, insure you actually have 50A service at the RV-end of your power cord.
It can be burned contacts in the transfer switch, which might be remedied by cleaning.
__________________

__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 09:59 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
It could be any of the following:

Fake 50 amp pedestal
Bad 50 amp plug on the end of your power cord
Bad power cord
Bad transfer switch relay or control board

Start at the pedestal and verify each one working towards the transfer switch.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 10:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,086
The " Fake 50 amp pedestal " is hard to check with a multi-meter.
When you say your only getting 30 amps, is that what your EMS says?
If your EMS, sees both legs of the 50 amp in the same phase ( exact same voltage) it assumes you are plugged into a 30 amp outlet, using an adapter.
Many older parks ; faked 50 amp plugs; rather than rewire the park properly.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 10:27 AM   #5
JSW
Senior Member
 
JSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galveston
Posts: 108
I am not at a campground with a pedestal, I'm connected to a 50 amp rv plug at a church. The connection is through a portable Progressive surge protector which also reads correct wiring and 50 amps. It's coming through the cord and into my MH at 50 amps but then my ems meter only shows 30 amp. That's why I suspect the transfer switch.
__________________
JSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 10:30 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8,404
Here is real 30 amp service on the left.

Then real 50 amp service in the center.

On the right is FAKE 50 amp service.


Testing is simple.

If L1 is the only one, 120 volts to neutral.

If L1 and L2 = 240 volts, it's real.

If L1 and L2 = 0 volts, it's fake.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1473524649889.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	138559  
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 10:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,086
[QUOTE=twinboat;3248282]
On the right is FAKE 50 amp service.
Testing is simple.
If L1 and L2 = 240 volts, it's real.

Thanks , Twinboat.
I've been relying on my surge guard to do the testing for so many years, I'd forgotten , the testing for 240 portion .

EDIT: Also missed post 5 , while I was away typing.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 10:48 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSW View Post

I am not at a campground with a pedestal, I'm connected to a 50 amp rv plug at a church. The connection is through a portable Progressive surge protector which also reads correct wiring and 50 amps. It's coming through the cord and into my MH at 50 amps but then my ems meter only shows 30 amp. That's why I suspect the transfer switch.
You could still be losing one leg from your PLUG.
Your cord could be the cause.
Your transfer switch could be the cause.

But first, I would reboot the EMS control board by removing the 5 amp fuse located on the board for a few minutes and then insert the fuse.

The EMS could be confused.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 12:46 PM   #9
JSW
Senior Member
 
JSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galveston
Posts: 108
Twinboat, I think you are right. When I get back from lunch I'll try another test and see if I can get 240 across both legs.
__________________
JSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 03:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bobmac's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 816
Not sure about your coach but in my Winnebago, the EMS senses the power from connections to 2 breakers in the box - one on each side of the line. You might want to check that all of your breakers are turned on so the EMS can see both sides of the line. If it can only see one, then it will show 30 amps when connected to a 50 amp service. Good luck,
__________________
Bob
09 Journey 39Z
Southern Ontario
bobmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 05:51 PM   #11
Member
 
Jandringa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Maggie Valley, N.C
Posts: 47
If you have a w/d make sure the breaker is on even though you may not be using it. Has the same issue in a bounder, would only read 30amps on the power management display until I turned the w/d breaker on then it showed 50amps.
__________________
Jandringa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 01:58 PM   #12
JSW
Senior Member
 
JSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galveston
Posts: 108
Thanks everyone for all the help. We moved to another location and everything works fine here. This proves what some of you suggested, it was the wiring in the 50 amp receptacle. You're helping me learn more good stuff and I've been doing this for 15 years.
__________________
JSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 03:20 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
So essentially you were hooked up to Fake 50 amp shore power which could be either 30 amps or 60 amps depending on how the church did the wiring.

Plus the Progressive Industries EMS unit will NOT indicate whether you are hooked to 50 amp or 30 amp. It has no way of displaying that information. Plus it will NOT shut down for "Fake 50 amp" power as it has no way of checking for that either. I think they were working on a prototype unit that may have that capability but haven't seen anything yet.

Either way it wasn't 50/100 amp which your coach is wired to use.

I built a Power/Pedestal Tester to quickly check any pedestal I am about to hook up to PRIOR to pulling into the site.

You stated in your very first post that you had "checked" the 50 amp power receptacle and it was "good". I mean no disrespect but perhaps you should review the correct procedure for checking a 50 amp r 30 amp power pedestal with a DVOM meter.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Power Tester Modified Digital Model-03.JPG
Views:	81
Size:	183.7 KB
ID:	138775   Click image for larger version

Name:	Power Tester Modified Digital Model-02.JPG
Views:	76
Size:	176.8 KB
ID:	138777  

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 09:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 57
As a quick check, if the pedestal has only a single 50A breaker then it's a 'fake' 50, and your power control panel will show 30A. It must have a double breaker to have 50A per leg.
__________________

__________________
Skip Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 74 05-30-2017 09:43 AM
Generator Maintenance & MANUALS Onan & Generac & PARTS "007" RV Systems & Appliances 20 07-18-2016 11:23 AM
2011 RV chassis Mods & parts & Tech info new & old chassis "007" Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 09-27-2011 07:26 AM
My experience, RVing full & part time & weekends, w/costs & other problems DougCP iRV2.com General Discussion 2 07-11-2011 08:30 AM
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp?? fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-15-2011 01:36 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.