Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2015, 02:02 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Aransas Pass, TX
Posts: 251
Question; did you have the air conditioners running on 50 amp shore power before and while starting the generator?

Your gennie cannot start under that kind of a load- it will pop its own breakers, which sheds the load but allows the gen to continue running.

The service diagram for your unit indicates the breakers are on the control panel, so it shouldn't be hard to check their condition.

It may be that the auto-transfer switch is bad, because it should automatically change over to the generator (assuming, as I said, that you aren't trying to start the gen under load.)
__________________

__________________
HoneyBadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-26-2015, 09:39 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
Like I stated above, my motor home is in enclosed storage about 50 miles from my home. I went over there today to check out what you guys mentioned above. You were absolutely correct. First, I determined that I was missing 110 vac everywhere when in generator mode only. I opened up the generator panel and the circuit breaker was popped. Reset it and everything is good to go. There is so much I do not know about this unit, it scares me. Thank God for the helpful folks on this forum. Thank you sooooo much and God Bless.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 09:46 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
One more final question on what caused the breaker to pop. The last time I was over there, I started the generator while the unit was still connected to shore power. I understand that this is a no-no, but I slipped up and forgot to turn off breaker and disconnect. Would this cause the breaker to pop? I think that is what you are talking about, Honeybadger. On that occasion, I fired up the generator and turned on the systems, without disconnecting shore power. When I bought the unit, I was told this was bad for the transfer switch, to always make sure I disconnect first. Will not make that mistake again.
__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 08:14 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Caswelld's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 259
Thanks Jim, great post. Most of us are still learning.

Dave
__________________

__________________
2015 Tiffin Allegro 36LA, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara
Invisibrake/Roadmaster Falcon All-Terrain Tow Bar/SumoSprings/Safety-T-Plus/5 Star Tune/Progressive EMSLCHW50
Caswelld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, air conditioning



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Horns stopped working TimSullivan iRV2.com General Discussion 10 01-11-2015 10:13 PM
Monaco - Safari - air conditioning ceiling duct road glide RV Systems & Appliances 1 09-20-2014 01:12 PM
Air conditioning Elycas10 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 08-07-2014 09:06 AM
Tradewinds Chassis Air conditioning mofa National RV Owner's Forum 6 06-03-2014 08:42 AM
Air Conditioning Problem BobLisaRVing RV Systems & Appliances 4 04-10-2014 05:53 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.