Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2015, 06:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
No Air Conditioning with Generator Running

I went down to Crestview, Florida Wednesday, where I keep my motot home covered/stored to do my semi-weekly start up and system run up. One thing I found was that the air conditioners were not running with generator only. With 50 amp ground power on, they ran like a champ. I got home, baffled, because I distinctly remember overnight camping last summer in a rest stop with generator only. After I got home, trying to figure out where to go next, I realized that I did not pull the 50 amp plug out of the power receptacle, I just turned off the circuit breakers. Would having that receptacle still plugged in cause the air conditioners not to run with generator power? Thanks for reading.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-23-2015, 06:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
The auto transfer switch , should disconnect shore power and put the gen set power through to all the coach systems.
There are circuit breakers on most gen sets that will have to be checked.
What else did you check to see if the gen set was supplying power to the interior . Microwave , clock lit up , other 110 volt system operation ?
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 06:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
I checked all system breakers and they were all in. I actually pulled them all and reset them to make sure. I checked all systems except the microwave, and everything seemed to work OK except for the AC's.. Thanks for your reply.
__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 06:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
The circuit breakers I checked were the main house breakers inside in the hallway. Are there breakers actually on the generator itself?
__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 06:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
Now that you mention it, I noticed that one of the night lights plugged into a 110 vac power receptacle beside the bed was also inoperative. Could you tell me more about the generator circuit breakers? Thanks.
__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 07:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Can you post your gen set brand and size ?
My unit 99 Onan 7500 only has one , right beside the start button on the gen set itself.
Your year and model may be different and may require access to the manual to be sure of location.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 07:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
One downside of buying a used MH is that you don't get all the manuals. I didn't get one for my unit when I bought it. According to the Thor website literature, my MH has an Onan Microquiet 4000 watt unit, model number RV QG 4000. I am Googling that now to see what I can find out about it.
__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 07:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bmurph44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlabit View Post
Are there breakers actually on the generator itself?
There are breakers on my generator, your motor home may be different.
__________________
2012 Tiffin Allegro RED 34QFA
bmurph44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 07:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
I found a manual for the generator on the web. It didn't show a specific place where the breakers are located, but says it has two 100 vac breakers and one 12 fuse. I am sure they are on or around the generator somewhere. My MH is stored about 50 miles from my home. I will go over there tomorrow and see if I can find them. Thank you Skip426, I believe you have sent me in the right direction to look. Will post again once I can get over there and look.
__________________
Jim & Judy & Bella (Black Lab) & Sunny (Retriever)
2010 Thor Hurricane 33T
TOAD 2014 Ford Focus LE
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 08:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: On the Road
Posts: 1,353
Also if the microwave clock isn't flashing that's a pretty quick clue that you're not getting ac power. On an old class c we had the power plug was removed from pedestal and had to be plugged into a receptacle at the back of coach or no ac. It would vibrate part way out of plug and DW learned to quick look at microwave to see if no power.


2005 Country Coach Inspire, C9 CAT
__________________
2012 Nu Wa 363RSBDA
2016 Ford F-350 Dually 6.7
Duoglide1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 08:27 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
sirpurrcival's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,069
I need to ask although given the relative youth of your rig I think I know the answer. Do you have an auto transfer switch or does your power cord plug into a receptacle inside your power bay when not plugged into a pedestal. My admittedly older rig doesn't not have a transfer switch. Generator power is sent to the coach by being plugged into an outlet inside the bay where my my power cord is stored.
__________________
1999 - National Tropi Cal
sirpurrcival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 08:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Champion, PA.
Posts: 337
I would also recommend starting at the generator breaker. It is probably located near the start/stop switch on the generator itself. Had the same exact problem and it was the breaker on the generator. Second place that I would look would be the transfer switch. Good luck!
__________________
2004 Thor Mandalay 38B
Stump Jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 11:00 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Blackcabby's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 106
I had a very similar situation. We had unplugged from shore power, started the generator, but the AC's wouldn't come on. When I checked the Magnum control panel, it indicated that I was still inverting from the house batteries. For some reason, the generator was running, but had not pushed power to the "grid." I called the trusty servicemen at Tiffin in Red Bay. They advised that I should confirm that the Generator Breaker switch hadnt tripped. I slid the generator out of its compartment, and low and behold the breaker switch was in the off position. I have no idea why, but once I switched it to the on position, all functioned as designed. This breaker switch was located on the top of the generator adjacent to the local start/stop switch. Good luck!
__________________
Black Cabby
2014 Phaeton 40QBH
2008 GMC Yukon Denali, Blue Ox Adventa LX, Remco pump, M&G Air Brakes
Blackcabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 09:00 AM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
The Onan 4000 genset has a circuit breaker near the generator-mounted Start Switch. It is very clearly illustrated in Figure 7-1 in the Onan Microlite 4000 (model KY) Service Manual. See www.cumminsonan.com/www/pdf/manuals/981-0503.pdf


Also on page 2-3 of the 4000 Operator manual, in Figure 2-1. See www.cumminsonan.com/www/pdf/manuals/981-0159D.pdf
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, air conditioning



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Horns stopped working TimSullivan iRV2.com General Discussion 10 01-11-2015 10:13 PM
Monaco - Safari - air conditioning ceiling duct road glide RV Systems & Appliances 1 09-20-2014 01:12 PM
Air conditioning Elycas10 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 08-07-2014 09:06 AM
Tradewinds Chassis Air conditioning mofa National RV Owner's Forum 6 06-03-2014 08:42 AM
Air Conditioning Problem BobLisaRVing RV Systems & Appliances 4 04-10-2014 05:53 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.