Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-04-2019, 08:14 PM   #1

Unhappy No DC Charge?

Hey everyone! Just joined. I am a college student who just got his first motorhome - wanted one since I was a kid. Looking forward to many miles of fun.

Got a 2000 Fleetwood Bounder 39W Cummins 5.9 with all options!! 50k miles

Has a couple minor issues but the one I cannot figure out is this:

The house batteries are only ever charged when the main engine is running - they will not charge off of shore power. However all 110 VAC in the coach is working appliances and outlets when on shore power and when not. They are newer house batteries that pass the good/bad battery test.

DC accessories do work, just only if you have run a separate battery charger on the house batteries for a while or if the main engine has been run for a while. Had to use the AUX start switch to use power from the starting batteries to get the slide to come out.

The previous owner was very meticulous - could tell by the amount of literature, tools, and things I found in the RV. He had an AIMS 2k W pure sine wave inverter/charger installed probably to tackle this same problem. Unfortunately, he passed away before he could fix it. Even found a print out of a forum post he made years ago asking about this very same issue! No replies however