Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2012, 06:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kliwks's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Warwick, RI
Posts: 200
No over the air TV reception

I hope I'm not wearing out my welcome. These questions will dwindle as I become an experienced RV'r. Any way, I cannot get any TV reception in my driveway (or anywhere). I have the Winegard batwing. I verified the 12 volts DC coming from the Winegard distribution box. I ran a cable direct from the box to the antenna. I let the TV scan the air channels and nothing but the message weak or no signal. I do not live in a remote area.
What do you think? Bad Antenna?
__________________

__________________
Steve & Sherrie
2003 National Seabreeze LX
Kliwks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-18-2012, 07:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bryan H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 143
If u have 12v, good connections between the box, winegard, and TV, and u have a TV with a tuner (which I'm guessing u do since it searched for channels), I don't know what else it could be if you live near enough to the signal. This question is remedial so sorry in advance...the amplifier box is turned on, right?
__________________

__________________
2015 Thor Outlaw 29H Class C Toyhauler
2015 Jeep Wrangler JKU Toad
Bryan H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,715
Did you rotate the antenna during the scan or have it pointed in a known direction towards a station?
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
-LB-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 101
Another question would be, does your TV have a digital tuner in it? If it does not, it won't pick up OTA transmissions since they were required to go digital a few years back.
__________________
2004 National RV - Sea Breeze - 1341
"Hopelessly lost...but making good time."
-LB- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ChileRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Desert, Ca
Posts: 630
Could be the TV. If it's original to the coach (2003?) it may not have a Digital tuner, in which case it won't pick-up digital signal.
If you have a small HDTV flat screen you can move in and connect to the antennae that may tell you something. Or, in the tv setup, make sure antennae is selected, and not cable.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Sightseer
2003 Wrangler
...and a dog named Belle
ChileRick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
DonDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Spring Valley AZ
Posts: 1,204
My batwing had a bad coax. I clipped the old and ran a new ca. wrapping it loosely around the mast. I live in the boonies and still get up to 20 channels, mostly digital ones.
__________________
Don, Mary and Spooky
'00 Bluebird Skoolie Conversion
Geo Tracker/Dodge Neon/Aprilia Scooter towed
DonDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:09 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan H View Post
This question is remedial so sorry in advance...the amplifier box is turned on, right?
That's what it turns out to be EVERY time I have this problem... every few months I seem to forget to turn it on and just stand there scratching my head until I remember that I forgot again.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Kliwks's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Warwick, RI
Posts: 200
Yes, box is on.
__________________
Steve & Sherrie
2003 National Seabreeze LX
Kliwks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 1,182
Unless you or the original owner changed out the tv's for newer digital set, you will not get any signals on your tv. First make sure the amplifier is turned on. You will need a digital converter box between your tv and antenna connection. The converter box will do the scanning and locate the watchable stations. In your area there should be tons of stations available. The converter works similar to a VCR in that you tune your tv to channel 3 or 4 and then use the box as your channel selector.
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,477
We tried the adapter boxes on the original non-digital TV's. The bedroom one always received more channels.
Changed the TV's to new LCD (bedroom) and LED (living area) Samsung TV's, get a lot more channels on both now. The converter box's just don't work very well compared to the new TV's
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Kliwks's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Warwick, RI
Posts: 200
I measured the 12 volts on a short piece of coax connected to the box. The red light is on for the 12v power. The TV is a newer Samsung flatscreen so that shouldn't be the issue. The TV is set or air, not cable. I didn't rotate the antenna during the scan, but it should pick up something. I got an over the air channel guide and checked several. Nothing.
__________________
Steve & Sherrie
2003 National Seabreeze LX
Kliwks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:26 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Another important question.... is this something which suddenly quit working for no apparent reason or are you attempting to get it operational for the first time?

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:53 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
A common problem is for the coax to break or corrode where it connects to the antenna (up on the roof). Check that first - you don't have to disassemble anything to do that.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:59 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kliwks View Post
I measured the 12 volts on a short piece of coax connected to the box. The red light is on for the 12v power. The TV is a newer Samsung flatscreen so that shouldn't be the issue. The TV is set or air, not cable. I didn't rotate the antenna during the scan, but it should pick up something. I got an over the air channel guide and checked several. Nothing.
You shouldn't need a converter box for a newer digital ready TV. Just connect the cable input directly to the TV and rescan.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.