Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2015, 04:37 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
Yes button is there but does nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennis45 View Post
Do you have a push button on the dash labeled GEN or similar?
I must be missing something.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-11-2015, 04:43 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy319 View Post
I must be missing something.
Typically the generator starts from the Chassis battery. Does the coach engine start OK? If so, there is a problem with the remote start connection. Could be a fuse? Not familiar with your coach to be specific.
Where is the gen mounted? If you can access it, there should be a start button on the generator. Give that a try.
__________________

__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:43 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,914
I have a Gen start switch on the stove hood.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:45 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,482
Also, you may need to hold the button in for a moment for the generator to start.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:46 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
Coach starts perfect. Just replaced all batteries. No issues at all. Generator had a light that would go on before battery replacement. That why I usually dot do any of my own work. This is my first one I've ever done anything on and it started with cleaning it and replacing all batteries.
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:47 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
Nothing happening when I push the button on the generator itself either.
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 08:02 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy319 View Post
Nothing happening when I push the button on the generator itself either.

Somewhere on the back of the generator there is a 12V cable from the battery, see if you have power at this cable. Possible there is a HD fuse in this circuit.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 11:10 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
I will have my mechanic look at this point. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 09:10 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 57
Newby here

Same problem. ..almost. ..98 American dream. .put new house batteries in last week. ..I'm currently hooked up to shore power. ..rv will not run off shore power and batteries are low...keeps shutting off fridge currently have charger on batteries which shows in the camper that everything is full charge. ...if you take charge off they drop off to low
__________________
Mark Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 10:05 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Batteries are connected improperly.

If I'm reading it properly (And I think I am) then the connections at the TOP of the photo are the 12 volt Positive and Ground to the house

The connections at the bottom of the photo should be just battery to battery, This is the magic that turns 2 six volt batteries into one 12

BUT THERE IS A 3RD WIRE THERE.. This wire should be hooked someplace else.. Where, I can not tell you but I am guessing it's a positive wire.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Power out from Bounder to House sirisaac Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 09-04-2015 03:43 PM
Changing House Batteries - Can I reconnect shore power while old batt's are out?? travelingbard RV Systems & Appliances 16 08-14-2015 08:56 AM
Need your advice. House batteries not charging on shore power or generator UtahRv Class C Motorhome Discussions 11 06-14-2015 11:39 PM
Switching Power Sources on an 85 Mallard wolf_7669 Vintage RV's 4 10-28-2014 03:16 PM
Electrical, House Batteries, 12 Volt Switched Power BikerGirl Monaco Owner's Forum 12 06-22-2014 10:15 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.