Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2015, 03:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
No power to house.

I have a 2001 ambassador 32pbd. We changed the house batteries and now no power to the house. The salesmans switch will give dim lights when held. I don't know how to start the generator that's why we replaced the house batteries thinking that was necessary. When plugged in we have just power to the microwave and DVDs player. Please help.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-11-2015, 03:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy319 View Post
I have a 2001 ambassador 32pbd. We changed the house batteries and now no power to the house. The salesmans switch will give dim lights when held. I don't know how to start the generator that's why we replaced the house batteries thinking that was necessary. When plugged in we have just power to the microwave and DVDs player. Please help.
If the problem started after you changed batteries, are you sure you have the new batteries connected properly? Did you happen to take a photo of them before removing the old ones?
Sounds like you have a crossed cable or ground problem. Can you provide a photo of your present hook up?
__________________

__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 03:46 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
I do not know how to post a pic on here
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 03:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy319 View Post
I do not know how to post a pic on here
When you do a reply, scroll down the page past the Submit Reply button to the Manage Attachents button. Click on that one and you will see the four boxes to enter a file (pic) from your computer. Pick one and then hit upload.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 03:51 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
Did this work

Let's see if this works
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	355.8 KB
ID:	109377  
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 03:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy319 View Post
Let's see if this works
Perfect, give me a moment to have a look
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,821
Bottom left cable, the one on top. Take it off and put it on top right positive post.

The red jumper is the only thing on the two posts in the bottom of the pucture. 1 on + and 1 on - like it is.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:23 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
Like this??

Like
This?
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:27 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
http://www.irv2.com/forums/attachmen...1&d=1444598722
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:30 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
It worked. Awesome. Thank you so much. Next is to figure out how to start the generator.
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:31 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
It worked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Bottom left cable, the one on top. Take it off and put it on top right positive post.

The red jumper is the only thing on the two posts in the bottom of the pucture. 1 on + and 1 on - like it is.


Perfect. Thank you.
__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,452
Sorry for the delay, I had to go out for a bit.

Anyway, Twinboat is correct. Take the Red cable off the post on the bottom left and put it on the (positive) post at the top right. That should put you back in Bussines.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:35 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy319 View Post
It worked. Awesome. Thank you so much. Next is to figure out how to start the generator.
Do you have a push button on the dash labeled GEN or similar?
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:36 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 17
Thank you everyone. It worked. I'm happy as ##^
__________________

__________________
Ziggy319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Power out from Bounder to House sirisaac Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 09-04-2015 03:43 PM
Changing House Batteries - Can I reconnect shore power while old batt's are out?? travelingbard RV Systems & Appliances 16 08-14-2015 08:56 AM
Need your advice. House batteries not charging on shore power or generator UtahRv Class C Motorhome Discussions 11 06-14-2015 11:39 PM
Switching Power Sources on an 85 Mallard wolf_7669 Vintage RV's 4 10-28-2014 03:16 PM
Electrical, House Batteries, 12 Volt Switched Power BikerGirl Monaco Owner's Forum 12 06-22-2014 10:15 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.