Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
OBD2 Code Readers

We have just purchased a new 2011 Newmar Canyon Star on the Ford F53 chassis. Does anyone know if there is a OBD2 code reader that one can purchase at an auto parts store that will read fault codes for this rig? I have been told that most code readers only work on cars and light trucks under 8500 lbs. I understand that you need an expensive, specialized code reader for heavy duty truck chassises-like the ones truck dealers use. Is this correct? Any help is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Richie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-31-2010, 09:07 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
It should have a standard Ford V10 and ECM, so an OBD II reader should work fine. It's the big diesels that don't use OBD II.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bug512's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warren County, NJ
Posts: 1,334
Look at the ScanGaugeII

According to their website it works on 1996 and newer.

It works fine on my 2004 Workhorse.


ScanGauge II by Gene Martel's, on Flickr
__________________
Gene & Ginger
No RV at this time.
04 Winnebago Adventurer 33V, 05 Jayco 23B, 02 Coleman Cheyenne
Bug512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,610
I just bought and installed the Scan Gauge II Oemy's Web Site - OBD II Scan Tools. It reads the codes and a whole lot more. I paid $155 delivered to my door from Brazel's RV Centralia Washington when he had a Christmas special. Don't know what the regular price is but I am really happy with it.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:29 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks guys. I have the scan gauge. I wanted something pacificly to read the codes. I'll keep looking. I will be buying a Equus 3100 for my cars and hope it works on the M/H.
__________________
Richie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 08:51 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
All OBD-11 systems from 1996 and on use the same code readers. It is mandated by the Federal Government.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:02 AM   #7
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
I have a code reader I bought at costco for 20 bucks.
Also have an ultrapower tuner.
Both read the codes from my V10 just fine
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 07:05 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hudsoner's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin suburbs of the Twin Cities
Posts: 753
Has anybody used the Ultra Gauge (http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm)? It seems to do the same stuff that the Scan Gauge II can do, but is way cheaper.
__________________
2001 Hurricane 29D
2015 Kia Sorento
Kymco Motor Scooter
Maya the Rottweiler/Great Dane Mix
Hudsoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:08 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Bug512's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warren County, NJ
Posts: 1,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hudsoner View Post
Has anybody used the Ultra Gauge (http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm)? It seems to do the same stuff that the Scan Gauge II can do, but is way cheaper.
From what I remember reading, it will not do the Allison Transmission temperature.

From their website, click "Guages" and it reads "UltraGauge currently does not support Manufacturer specific gauges such as Transmission temperature."
__________________
Gene & Ginger
No RV at this time.
04 Winnebago Adventurer 33V, 05 Jayco 23B, 02 Coleman Cheyenne
Bug512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:56 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hudsoner's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin suburbs of the Twin Cities
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bug512 View Post
From what I remember reading, it will not do the Allison Transmission temperature.

From their website, click "Guages" and it reads "UltraGauge currently does not support Manufacturer specific gauges such as Transmission temperature."
My unit has the Ford chassis and drive train. I wonder whether that would be supported. I like the looks of the thing and, of course, the price. But if it would not work, any price is to high!
__________________
2001 Hurricane 29D
2015 Kia Sorento
Kymco Motor Scooter
Maya the Rottweiler/Great Dane Mix
Hudsoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:31 AM   #11
Member
 
ShabbyChic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 34
Im new to this mh, Its a 93 Coachmen Royal in great shape. Im know the scan gauge only works on new 96 and up. What do we do? Is there a scanner gauge I could buy, I thinking I know for sure Im going to install a Trans temp gauge. Thanks so much for your time, Im hopin to learn alot from you guys, and some day pass that along.
__________________
ShabbyChic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 04:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 36
I was about to get the ultra gauge over the scan gauge because the display seems better and it is way cheaper but as mentioned above the ultra gauge doesn't support any vehicle specific gauges which includes any transmission info for any brand. The Scan Gauge let's you enter your own computer code info so you can be sure you can display anything your vehicle computer can output. If you don't care about more advanced gauges and transmission temps I think I would go with an Ultra Gauge.
__________________
2002 Bounder 36S Ford F53 Chassis
somekevinguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:34 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hudsoner's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin suburbs of the Twin Cities
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by somekevinguy View Post
. If you don't care about more advanced gauges and transmission temps I think I would go with an Ultra Gauge.
Well, I guess it is back to Scan Gauge.
__________________
2001 Hurricane 29D
2015 Kia Sorento
Kymco Motor Scooter
Maya the Rottweiler/Great Dane Mix
Hudsoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
W4MBG's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 650
SG2 works fine on my RV. dont have any codes right now, but it should read them just fine. so far it has pulled them from my '00 honda, '05 minivan, '01 miata, and a friends late-90's celica.
__________________

__________________
1999 Winnebago Minnie 29', Ford V10, Close to stock.
W4MBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Code 311 has me stumped! Wanabee FTer Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 11-16-2010 07:20 PM
Setting zip code for Directv while on road? Bob86ZZ4 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 36 06-07-2010 11:06 AM
code 278 Lift pump circuit MACRacing Cummins Engines 5 04-01-2010 10:30 AM
Engine Code P1336? abarkl Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 2 11-29-2009 03:00 PM
Code readers DFR Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 8 08-20-2008 03:53 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.