Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2014, 10:10 AM   #1
Member
 
quickiwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CENTRAL CA.
Posts: 43
Odometer

2006 Damon Astoria 300 isb
After resetting trip meters on information center my odometer is now reading 00000 . Is there a way to get my mileage back or do I have take it to a Cummins dealer?
__________________

__________________
quickiwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-08-2014, 01:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
gruelens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,292
I have never had that happen to me. Electronic odometers are generally considered tamper resistant, for obvious reasons. Of course there are always ways to beat the system. When I had a new dash cluster installed, the previous odometer reading was set by the company it was purchased from before they shipped it to the repair facility.
__________________

__________________
George R. - Fulltiming since January '03
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 3991
2012 Chevy Malibu LT1
gruelens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 01:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tedgard01's Avatar


 
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 3,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickiwe View Post
2006 Damon Astoria 300 isb After resetting trip meters on information center my odometer is now reading 00000 . Is there a way to get my mileage back or do I have take it to a Cummins dealer?
Maybe you simply turned it over the 100K mark.... Lol
__________________
tedgard01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 01:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 2,244
Push the button a few more times. It may toggle between tripometer, odometer, metric, and miles.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 10:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
89sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 883
you just added thousands to the resale value
__________________
89sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 11:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Shadow0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickiwe View Post
2006 Damon Astoria 300 isb
After resetting trip meters on information center my odometer is now reading 00000 . Is there a way to get my mileage back or do I have take it to a Cummins dealer?
I would think that you would take it to ever made the chassis not Cummins.
__________________
Shadow0120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:30 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
tom77hmstd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: homestead fl.
Posts: 280
Mine went from 65000 back to 15000 when I was messing with buttons and the readout keeps changing what it shows at start up. Some one on my post about this said to call Frieghtliner but I haven't yet. I tried the reboot by disconnecting all power but it is still messed up.
__________________
Tom Homestead Fl.
2006 National RV Tradewinds 40D
tom77hmstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
tedgard01's Avatar


 
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 3,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom77hmstd View Post
Mine went from 65000 back to 15000 when I was messing with buttons and the readout keeps changing what it shows at start up. Some one on my post about this said to call Frieghtliner but I haven't yet. I tried the reboot by disconnecting all power but it is still messed up.
Good luck! At least you can read yours... My National Dolphin's odometer, which was one of the older model digital ones, became so difficult to read that it did not matter if it displayed the correct mileage or not... Glad I am trading it in on a new RV!
__________________
tedgard01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Graham, WA
Posts: 426
Had ours at Freightliner for a communication problem between the parking brake and the trans. Repairman swapped some parts (which didn't fix the problem) but did manage to reset the odometer from 41K to 0.
__________________
2006 Gulfstream Friendship G7, Cat C7 and Allison 6 spd
Honda VTX and Crusier Lift on the back
Blue Ox Aladdin, Brake Buddy, 2014 Chevy Equinox toad
Dennis4809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:18 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Petes Dad's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Posts: 200
The ECM will still have the correct mileage. You can go to anyone with an Insite program and they can read it, but the dash display may never again display correctly.
__________________
2005 American Tradition 40L
69' Camaro in tow
Petes Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:27 PM   #11
Member
 
quickiwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CENTRAL CA.
Posts: 43
ECM

What is a ECM?
__________________
quickiwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:29 PM   #12
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickiwe View Post
What is a ECM?
Engine Control Module
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:39 PM   #13
Member
 
quickiwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CENTRAL CA.
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by KIX View Post
Engine Control Module
ok thank you
__________________
quickiwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 10:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Shadow0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petes Dad View Post
The ECM will still have the correct mileage. You can go to anyone with an Insite program and they can read it, but the dash display may never again display correctly.
You can get Silver Leaf and hook up to a laptop. That will have the information.
__________________

__________________
Shadow0120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odometer & speedometer error 1ciderdog MH-General Discussions & Problems 26 02-07-2014 07:38 PM
1999 Windsor odometer numbers hard to read peterdube Monaco Owner's Forum 0 01-19-2014 09:19 AM
workhorse LED odometer, gear designator degraded kniljw Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 01-14-2014 01:13 PM
Odometer works Speedo does not Mr.Papabear1 Monaco Owner's Forum 7 10-25-2013 07:12 PM
Actia odometer unreadable jmcclard Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 9 09-15-2013 05:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.