Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2014, 09:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 933
Ok, I can't find my brake controller wires

I have looked everywhere and I don't see the red, white, black, and blue wires that Monaco said would be under the dash of my 2008 Beaver Contessa. Another Monaco Tech said I should see a 6 wire connector with only 5 wires attached to the headlight switch.

Is there a way to connect 12v to the brake wire at the 7 prong connector and then 'sniff' it out at the dash? I want to try to use the factory wires if possible. If I have to re-wire I will.
__________________

__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-07-2014, 09:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,939
Chassis maker is the key. Who made yours?
__________________

__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 09:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigman1 View Post
Chassis maker is the key. Who made yours?
Roadmaster by Monaco
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 10:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,939
I've got a diagram for Freightliners and have found them on the Tiffin chassis, but nothing on the Roadmaster. Sorry

Good luck finding them. I know standing on your head is always so much fun.
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 11:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
mdpuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta
Posts: 117
Hey there Pigman 1, if you have the diagram for the Frieghtliner chassis I would really like to get it. I have a 2004 Gulfstream Atrium with the Cat C7 in a Frieghtliner and need to put in an electric brake controller and it would be much easier if I knew where to look for the wires.

Thanks so much.
__________________
mdpuff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 09:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
waroland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mt Juliet, TN (Homebase)
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by tankcj View Post
I have looked everywhere and I don't see the red, white, black, and blue wires that Monaco said would be under the dash of my 2008 Beaver Contessa. Another Monaco Tech said I should see a 6 wire connector with only 5 wires attached to the headlight switch.

Is there a way to connect 12v to the brake wire at the 7 prong connector and then 'sniff' it out at the dash? I want to try to use the factory wires if possible. If I have to re-wire I will.
You can purchase a circuit tracer at your home center to trace your wire from the rear. There are two parts to the tracer: one (transmitter) is attached to the known wire that sends out a signal to be picked up by the other part (receiver). The receiver's sensitivity can be adjusted so you can zero in on the correct wire. This can be used to locate all kinds of wires on your RV as long as they don't have 120 volts on them.
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Revolution 38B
2006 Honda CR-V Air Force One
waroland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 12:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by waroland View Post
You can purchase a circuit tracer at your home center to trace your wire from the rear. There are two parts to the tracer: one (transmitter) is attached to the known wire that sends out a signal to be picked up by the other part (receiver). The receiver's sensitivity can be adjusted so you can zero in on the correct wire. This can be used to locate all kinds of wires on your RV as long as they don't have 120 volts on them.
Ok, I just picked up Sperry wire tracker/tracer and I' m heading out to try it.....wish me luck!
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 03:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 640
Should find the connector taped to the wiring of the headlight switch wiring (just to keep it out of the way). I could not find mine from under the pedals or through the access panel on the dash. Wasn't til I pulled the instrument cluster out did I see it.

Still a problem for me as the P3 controller and the Monaco Brake signal wire are not compatable. Monaco is constant on, until you press the brake pedal. AT LEAST WITH MY 2006 HR. Needed to pull a signal wire from the FR wire bay and use a relay
__________________
2006 HR Scepter 42DSQ
Playtime IV
Holiday FL
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 03:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 933
Ok, I found the connector! It was in the side console. 6 plug connector with 5 white wires. I have a constant 12v, a trailer wire (found it with the tracer) and brake switch wire (only has power when brake pedal is applied). I'm now trying to confirm what the other wires are for - one is probably a ground.
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 03:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 640


My wires were all labeled (printing on the white wires) but I did test each one before connecting to the P3. Of course I had to cut off the connector and discard it.
__________________
2006 HR Scepter 42DSQ
Playtime IV
Holiday FL
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 03:37 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 186
The last 2 will be ground and dash lights.
__________________
camper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 04:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Playtime III View Post


My wires were all labeled (printing on the white wires) but I did test each one before connecting to the P3. Of course I had to cut off the connector and discard it.
Yep, there does appear to be labels on the wires.
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
waroland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mt Juliet, TN (Homebase)
Posts: 432
Glad you found it.
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Revolution 38B
2006 Honda CR-V Air Force One
waroland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 09:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdpuff View Post
Hey there Pigman 1, if you have the diagram for the Frieghtliner chassis I would really like to get it. I have a 2004 Gulfstream Atrium with the Cat C7 in a Frieghtliner and need to put in an electric brake controller and it would be much easier if I knew where to look for the wires.

Thanks so much.
Unfortunately, it's a PDF file and I don't know how to post it here. If you (or anyone else) could PM me with you're email address, I'd be happy to send it to you.
__________________

__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake light trigger for brake controller tompn Monaco Owner's Forum 16 01-08-2014 12:37 PM
Electric Brake controller for View Profile Greener Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 11-07-2013 10:16 AM
'87 Winnebago has brake problems after sitting for 6 months becida MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 10-16-2013 06:31 PM
How to Find Free Wi-Fi on the Road endlesstrave Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 06-26-2013 10:42 PM
Alpine 2004: Dash Warning Buzzer quit working, can't find it! Mike & Mike Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 06-23-2013 11:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.