Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2013, 03:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
markwho40's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: south beach or
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to markwho40 Send a message via Yahoo to markwho40 Send a message via Skype™ to markwho40
on rv generators

i have a 1996 36ft winnebago adventure and i have a generator that works and runs good but i dont know how to use it right there was a power out in the rv park a few weeks ago so i turn my generator on and it was running but nothing went on inside my rv so is there something im doing wrong and can i here from others please that has had a rv like mine same year and brand i do have a 50amp plug in in my sewer clean out under nieth but please help thanks all
__________________

__________________
markwho40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-11-2013, 03:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
Mark,

There could be a few different reasons for this...

There is an automatic transfer switch that switches between your shore power and your generator power - this switch could be bad.

On the front of the generator (depending upon which model you have you may have to remove a cover) there could be 1 or 2 circuit breakers that may be tripped.
__________________

__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 04:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
markwho40's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: south beach or
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to markwho40 Send a message via Yahoo to markwho40 Send a message via Skype™ to markwho40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94-Newmar View Post
Mark,

There could be a few different reasons for this...

There is an automatic transfer switch that switches between your shore power and your generator power - this switch could be bad.

On the front of the generator (depending upon which model you have you may have to remove a cover) there could be 1 or 2 circuit breakers that may be tripped.
i have a 650 onan generator so does a 50amp plug in the sewer dran out for the generator or what
__________________
markwho40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 04:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
Well, there is no 650 Onan generator.. getting an exact model would be helpful on the circuit breaker location.

A picture of your bay/compartment showing exactly what you're talking about would be helpful. On SOME RVs there is no transfer switch and you have to plug the shore cord into an outlet mounted in the compartment that is wired from the generator. I have never seen a 50 amp coach like this however - only have seen 30amp coaches setup like that. Can you post a picture of your compartment/bay? Does your shore cord have 3 blades and 1 round or 2 angled blades and 1 round?
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 04:29 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,799
  • If no transfer switch, then likely the shore power cable plugs into the generator
  • If transfer switch, then the switch could be bad
  • Circuit breakers tripped on the generator
  • Generator bad
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
On my 50amp coach I have to plug into generator.
__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:13 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by markwho40 View Post

i have a 650 onan generator so does a 50amp plug in the sewer dran out for the generator or what
If you have a 50a receptical in a bay which your 50a shore cord can plug into, than that's what you need to do when running the generator. If there is no place on the coach to plug your cord into, then you have an automatic transfer switch, which is not working. As stated, check the breakers on the generator first.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
markwho40's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: south beach or
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to markwho40 Send a message via Yahoo to markwho40 Send a message via Skype™ to markwho40
Quote:
Originally Posted by markwho40 View Post
i have a 1996 36ft winnebago adventure and i have a generator that works and runs good but i dont know how to use it right there was a power out in the rv park a few weeks ago so i turn my generator on and it was running but nothing went on inside my rv so is there something im doing wrong and can i here from others please that has had a rv like mine same year and brand i do have a 50amp plug in in my sewer clean out under nieth but please help thanks all


i just figured out my rv generator i have to unplug my rv from the rv power and plug it into the plug in in my sewer bay to have my generator work in a power outage
__________________
markwho40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
Just one question... WHAT IDIOT PUT THE POWER OUTLET IN A WET BAY?. (ok enough shouting).

Yup, that is what I call a poor man's transfer switch.

NOW, a question... So you park your RV at home when not traveling?

If YES. then

Have a proper GENERATOR transfer panel installed with an INELT on the outside of the house.

Get a TWIST LOCK outlet that fits the inlet (often included with the thing)

Get some 8ga cord (long enough to make the trip)

And a 50 amp plug (Camco power pull) assuming that is what your RV has. for an outlet (or 30 if not if 30 then you use 3-wire cord instead of 4)

Put only 120 volt loads on the transfer panel (Central Air, Cloths dryer (electric) Elictric water heaters and ranges need to be left off the panel)

now..When the power fails.. Hook up, fire up and enjoy.

I can tell you.. Box was I think 300 bucks, plus installation and I paid over 100 for the cord (Do not recall the cost of plugs) But when the power failed on Dec-31.

Warm wife.. Priceless.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:22 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
markwho40's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: south beach or
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to markwho40 Send a message via Yahoo to markwho40 Send a message via Skype™ to markwho40
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Just one question... WHAT IDIOT PUT THE POWER OUTLET IN A WET BAY?. (ok enough shouting).

Yup, that is what I call a poor man's transfer switch.

NOW, a question... So you park your RV at home when not traveling?

If YES. then

Have a proper GENERATOR transfer panel installed with an INELT on the outside of the house.

Get a TWIST LOCK outlet that fits the inlet (often included with the thing)

Get some 8ga cord (long enough to make the trip)

And a 50 amp plug (Camco power pull) assuming that is what your RV has. for an outlet (or 30 if not if 30 then you use 3-wire cord instead of 4)

Put only 120 volt loads on the transfer panel (Central Air, Cloths dryer (electric) Elictric water heaters and ranges need to be left off the panel)

now..When the power fails.. Hook up, fire up and enjoy.

I can tell you.. Box was I think 300 bucks, plus installation and I paid over 100 for the cord (Do not recall the cost of plugs) But when the power failed on Dec-31.

Warm wife.. Priceless.
i live in my rv 24/7 my rv is my home im whats called a full rver
__________________
markwho40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 238
If the OP has the same setup that I do with my 34ft instead of his 36 ft, my power cord compartment is right next to the wet bay. But to be able to lock up the power cord compartment and the wet bay compartment, you run the power cord into the wet bay and then out through the bottom. There is a tray in the bottom of the wet bay compartment that has 3 slots in it. One for the power cord, one for the sewer hose and on for the city water hookup hose.

My 96 didn't come with a ATS ether and you have to plug the shore power cord back into the MH to get any power from the generator.
__________________
jcgribks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 12:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
markwho40's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: south beach or
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to markwho40 Send a message via Yahoo to markwho40 Send a message via Skype™ to markwho40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgribks View Post
If the OP has the same setup that I do with my 34ft instead of his 36 ft, my power cord compartment is right next to the wet bay. But to be able to lock up the power cord compartment and the wet bay compartment, you run the power cord into the wet bay and then out through the bottom. There is a tray in the bottom of the wet bay compartment that has 3 slots in it. One for the power cord, one for the sewer hose and on for the city water hookup hose.

My 96 didn't come with a ATS ether and you have to plug the shore power cord back into the MH to get any power from the generator.
yep my rv is the way you tell about your rv
__________________

__________________
markwho40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.