Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2015, 09:26 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Onan 5500 qg in 2014 bounder

Why does my power control system show only 40 amps when running on my generator? The gen clearly states on it that is 50 amps. When plugged in to my 30 amp at home it reads 30 amps and when at a campground and plugged into 50 amp service it reads 50. Is this 40 amp on the gen correct or is something wrong with gen or the readout?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1439562362.471253.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	124.4 KB
ID:	103278
__________________

__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-14-2015, 09:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,797
5500 watts divided by 120 volts = 45 amps.

Are you reading the breaker. Maybe it's a 50 amp surge capacity.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 09:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Never thought about that. I know that the 5500 watt rating is only at surge and normal is probably 5000 watts. Would this cross over to amps as well?
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 10:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Found another sticker on gen that says 46 amps. Guess that is what it produces nominally which shows up on the monitor as 40 and under surge it can produce the 46 maybe? Not too well versed in this stuff.
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 02:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,797
I am not familiar with AC monitors but I don't think it reads what your plugged into, but is set for what you have.
Maybe the settings go by 10s, so 45 is not an option.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 10:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
It reads when I'm plugged in and automatically selects 30 or 50 amp. When I'm plugged into a regular 110 outlet while loading for a trip and such it reads 20 amp. I just find it strange that it reads 40 when on gen power. It also shows what sources such as a/c and fridge are drawing how many amps. Im wondering if its hooked up wrong as it shows the draw of the fridge but never shows the draw of the a/c's
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 11:21 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
The system detects whether the source power is 30A or 50A, which it does by measuring the available voltage. If it shows 40A when on generator, it must have a special input wire that tells it the genset is running, cause there is no way to distinguish that otherwise. The energy management system in my coach just says "Generator".

40 amps @ 120v is 4800 watts. Maybe they thought that was easier to comprehend vs 45.8?
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bounder, onan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan Marquis Gold 5500 Generator issue XtremeRV RV Systems & Appliances 1 07-28-2015 10:58 PM
Onan 5500 Marquis Aldev RV Systems & Appliances 7 07-11-2015 03:45 PM
Onan Marquis 5500 gold problem Socaltoolguy RV Systems & Appliances 11 07-07-2015 01:59 PM
Oil and Filter for Onan RV QG 5500 Generator reubenray iRV2.com General Discussion 22 01-31-2015 03:07 PM
Onan 5500 problems please help! 53block RV Systems & Appliances 10 07-17-2013 10:28 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.