Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2015, 12:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 64
Onan 7500 Quitting

I have an Onan 7500 with 240 hours on it. It starts missing then dies not all the time. It shows a 33 code. I am full of fuel.
__________________

__________________
djay is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-05-2015, 01:17 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,319
Try and just wiggle the linkage to make sure that nothing is bound up. If the linkages are ok it could very well be the carb.
__________________

__________________
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 01:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
gasser 38's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 374
I think the 33 code is over temp you could have a bad sensor
__________________
gasser 38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 01:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
zmotorsports's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,623
Actually on most QD models a code 3 (three blinks then pause, three blinks) means there is a secondary code.

To access the seconday when it quits and flashes the 3, 3, 3, etc. momentarily push the stop button once. There will then be a secondary code displayed in the same manner, blinks and pauses. This will be the code that you can then look up in the owners manual for your specific genset.

Please make sure to use the correct service or owners manual for your exact genset as codes can be different from model to model.

Mike.
__________________
Mike & Chrystal/ 2011 Jeep JKUR
Link to our 2003 Monaco Baroness Projects/Mods thread here:
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/mods-upgrades-to-our-2003-dynasty-237276.html
zmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 01:57 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
If 33 is the secondary code (Following an initial code 3), then it is indeed High Coolant Temperature. You need to determine whether the coolant actually did overheat, or if the temperature sensor is defective. Check the radiator coolant level as the first step, but failing temp sensors is not all that uncommon on this model.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 02:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 64
Ok thanks for the info. Ill try that
__________________
djay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 03:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
DragRacer68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 168
If you haven't changed the fuel filter on it, do so now. One thing I've learned with my Onan is always always always change the fuel filter every year. A partially clogged filter will exhibit symptoms like you're having. I keep a spare filter in the coach at all times also. Also check oil level and make sure it's correct.
__________________
2000 Newmar Dutch Star 3858 Freightliner chassis 300hp CAT engine
DragRacer68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 06:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 64
I will have a new fuel & air filter in the morn change both I agree it sounds like its not getting enough fuel
Thanks again
__________________
djay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 07:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jamie65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 234
Beware of a secondary fuel filter outside the gen follow the fuel line until you find a hard metal line. You may find an inline filter in between the gen and hard line.
__________________
Ed & Kathleen
2003 Tiffin Allegro 40'
Jeep Liberty Tow
Jamie65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 07:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 298
We had a problem with our generator running fine and then stopping. Took it to Onan and couldn't find a problem. Others on the forum suggested adding a little oil. Turned out that was the problem. Generator would work fine until we took a curve and the oil level shifted. Guess a sensor noted low oil and shut it down.
__________________
RJEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 11:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,085
I had the same code with my last QD7500 at 9 yrs, 170hrs. It was the temp sensor. The place I took it to for repair said the temp sensor was the most frequent repair he did on Onan diesel generators.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer
Dennis_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 12:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 5,277
Djay,
I surely hope your situation/issue turns out a lot better than mine did. We also had the code: "33" on our 7.5QD and, I ran down the list in the trouble shooting manual for Onan and, all of the potential causes for "over heat" condition, were eliminated and, the problem persisted. I posted on here, and, many pointed me towards the temp sensor.

Well, extra long story short, yep, it was the sensor. But, there's a secondary story to the original one. That temp sensor can be really easy to remove and replace or, it can be one serious nightmare. In my case, it was the latter. To say the least, I was in for some serious work ahead of me but had no idea it was going to be that way. The temp sensor is cheap, about $17.00 if I recall but, it's getting it out that can be mind boggling.

Anyway, again, if your problem is the sensor, I hope your replacement of it, goes smoothly. Good luck.
Scott

P.S. Below are some pictures of my operation of the sensor removal. I'm linking these pics just so that "in case" you run into resistance if and when you put a wrench/socket on that sensor, you'll know what you're up against. Many on here have had no issue what so ever in removing theirs and replacing it. But some, have had the same problems I did. Good luck.





__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 12:31 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
I ran into the above "nightmare" scenario helping a friend change his QD 7500 temp sensor. He & I worked on it the better part of a day to get the old, seized and broken sensor out. Both of us are mechanically skilled, and had plenty of tools for the job, but it was still a challenge.

And sometimes the sensor isn't even accessible without yanking the genset. All depends on how the coach front end is set up, e.g. gen slide-out, large or small access panel, etc.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 12:32 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
znt1186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie65 View Post
Beware of a secondary fuel filter outside the gen follow the fuel line until you find a hard metal line. You may find an inline filter in between the gen and hard line.
The extra fuel filter seems to be something that only Tiffin added. Just spoke with Freightliner about it and they agree that Tiffin is the only manufacturer they are aware of who used the second filter.
__________________

__________________
znt1186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
onan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan 7500 QD leaking fuel at the filter fitting abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-26-2015 07:33 PM
Onan Quiet Diesel 7500 Oil Change Interval 53block iRV2.com General Discussion 14 04-12-2015 06:44 PM
Onan 7500 Watt Generator need 30 Amps joedurrance Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 01-30-2015 03:48 PM
Onan 7500 shutting down after 40 seconds DMM2 RV Systems & Appliances 13 05-29-2014 05:42 AM
onan 7500 gen issue scrapper1 RV Systems & Appliances 6 04-01-2014 07:54 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.