Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2015, 05:55 AM   #15
Senior Member
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 133
Just for information, 120v and 240v are both pulled from the same leg, hence they are both single phase.

Peterd503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2015, 07:16 AM   #16
Junior Member
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
WOW! Now we are getting to the point. Thank You so much for the information. Any more thoughts on connecting the additional external outlet right after the built in circuit breaker? The original built-in circuit breaker is a 35 Amp breaker that's shuts down both lines, L1 & L2?
Second would that eliminate the need for another breaker at the generator?
Thanks Again!
I will plan the house side of the equation later, and do it safely.

joedurrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 07:44 AM   #17
Senior Member
Lincolnboy2's Avatar

Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,518

During a power outage, the only thing that needs to run is the refrigerator at my house.

So I ran an extension cord from the coach to the frig. I stayed in the MH while the power was out.

I know this may not work if you don't want to stay in your coach or have lots of power outages.

I sold my house generator and will just stay in the coach during power outages.

Keep us posted on your project! It will be interesting, and please post pictures!

Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:24 AM   #18
Senior Member
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 133
Just for grins, check voltage between L1 and neutral and L2 and neutral. If both are hot, check voltage between L1 and L2. If they are powered by the same transformer nodes, they will show no voltage between lines. If they are not sharing transformer nodes, you should see 215-240 volts between lines. I suggest this because a 2 line breaker is usually used for 215-240 volts.
Peterd503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 02:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
ernieh's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,047
I have my MH set up to power my house. I used the two 30A air conditioner breakers as my power source since I will never run the house and AC's at the same time.

You will not be able to get 220v from your QD, but you can get two 120V legs. Using this setup, I am able to power every 120V circuit in my house, which in my case means everything except the air conditioners and ovens.

If the power is out for an extended time during the summer, we simply move to the motorhome.

2012 Phaeton 36QSH
2007 Wrangler Toad
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote

generator, onan

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan 7500 (HDKAJ) won't shut off! jgfreer RV Systems & Appliances 3 08-17-2014 03:21 PM
Onan 7500 shutting down after 40 seconds DMM2 RV Systems & Appliances 13 05-29-2014 04:42 AM
Onan CMDQ 7500 toolz40 RV Systems & Appliances 2 05-21-2014 12:23 PM
onan 7500 gen issue scrapper1 RV Systems & Appliances 6 04-01-2014 06:54 PM
Can a Onan 5500 watt Marquis Gold be converted to propane Jasper7821 RV Systems & Appliances 22 01-23-2014 07:45 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.