Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2015, 03:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Smile Onan 7500 Watt Generator need 30 Amps

I want to use my RV generator as a backup power supply to my house in case of electrical power failure from the grid. I have an Onan, 7500 Watt genset in a American Tradition. There is no 30 Amp outlet on the generator or coach. Any thoughts the best way I could make an 30 Amp outlet to connect a power cord to run to my house.
__________________

__________________
joedurrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-17-2015, 04:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,718
Here is a thread about your question here Powering home with Coach Generator
And if you use the "Search box" at the top of the page, you will find more threads on this.
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 06:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jauguston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bellingham,WA
Posts: 973
If you are not a pretty good electrician I would find one and have him add a 30a outlet box to the generator. There is no 220v.

Jim
__________________
2005 Sportscoach Elite 40' C-7 350 Cat w/MP-8
Suzuki Samurai toad w/VW 1.6 turbo diesel
800w solar system
jauguston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 08:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
If you do not have outlet on generator then add a breaker and outlet to the losd center.

Easy to do that way and safer too.

Generator usually has 2 outputs with one 20 amp and other 30 amp but check yours for sure.

House side needs special attention and will not detail here as it has been beaten to death already.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 09:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
djbmsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,806
First and foremost be sure to add a switch that isolates/disconnects your home from your local Electric provider when you supply power to your home from your generator.
If you do not, you will be back feeding to the home power supply and that puts anyone in danger that comes to make repairs to the grid.
__________________
Don and Nancy
[2014 40QBH Phaeton, 2015 Buick Enclave, 2yr old sisters Sara n Kaycee, Havanese, Two Segways
djbmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 07:20 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
98FPA's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunrise In Central Nebraska
Posts: 578
First and foremost heed the advice djbmsu has given you in the above post. If you do not know what you are doing you need a qualified electrician. It can certainly be done but there is wrong way, a right way, and a dead way.
__________________
Ken in Nebraska
98 Fleetwood Pace Arrow, 35U
97 Ford F53 chassis
98FPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 08:03 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedurrance View Post
I want to use my RV generator as a backup power supply to my house in case of electrical power failure from the grid. I have an Onan, 7500 Watt genset in a American Tradition. There is no 30 Amp outlet on the generator or coach. Any thoughts the best way I could make an 30 Amp outlet to connect a power cord to run to my house.
Thanks to all the informative replies.
Cone on guys. The dangers of back feeding the power lines in our houses in a blackout is well known and has been beaten to death. I will not do anything without knowing the consequences. Your ideas are invaluable to me.
I want suggestion as to the best way to do it. I am considering installing a new weatherproof receptacle on a pigtail maybe on the side of the genie itself. Very limited room however. Another thought is to install it on a new wire (6 or 8 size so I can have a long extension cord) right after the built in circuit breaker. That way it well be protected somewhat. Having an additional 115V, I want a 30 Amp receptacle on the RV It will be handy in any event.
Thanks so much for your thoughts.
__________________
joedurrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 12:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
Many years ago I needed 240 volt to run a deep well pump on my remote Arizona property. The RV was a 1997 Vogue with a gas generator. It was no problem to find line 1 and line 2 at or coming from the generator. I hooked into them and added the proper outlet in the generator compartment. I then made an "extension cord" out of romex to run the deep well pump when needed. You might be able to do something similar without problem.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 05:24 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ciderdog View Post
Many years ago I needed 240 volt to run a deep well pump on my remote Arizona property. The RV was a 1997 Vogue with a gas generator. It was no problem to find line 1 and line 2 at or coming from the generator. I hooked into them and added the proper outlet in the generator compartment. I then made an "extension cord" out of romex to run the deep well pump when needed. You might be able to do something similar without problem.
Thanks this is what I originally had in mind.
__________________
joedurrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 06:10 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Sounds like you have a 50 amp RV, same as I do

I found a place that is protected from the weather and mounted a box and 30 amp outlet (you could also use a TT-30 Pigtail, in fact I have both) and put in a 30 amp breaker in the panel. Ran it through the house power distribution center, same as everything else.

Just exactly as I would if I put a 30 amp outlet in the house.

NOTE: your generator may have two "Legs" but odds are they are the same, not L-1 and L-2 but L-1a and L-1b so you can NOT put 240 volt stuff on the emergency panel (generator transfer) in the house.

Also, the neutral lead has to haul ALL the current, both legs ADDED.

That said, My house burned about 30 amps at 120 volts when I used the ONAN to light up my life and keep warm.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 11:37 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
[QUOTE=wa8yxm;2392582]

NOTE: your generator may have two "Legs" but odds are they are the same, not L-1 and L-2 but L-1a and L-1b so you can NOT put 240 volt stuff on the emergency panel (generator transfer) in the house.


I didn't know about this. Are they labeled L-1a and L-1b? Or is there another way to make that determination? Thanks
Bob
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 01:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Simple...

Measure voltage.

If both are L1 then each will measure 120 to ground but 0 between them.

If L1 and L2 it will be 120 to ground on each and 240 between them.

Be carefull...
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 02:05 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: milford va
Posts: 31
generator

my 7500 diesel onan only has 120 volt output...2circuts not 220v single phase like household electric has.makes it harder to use as a backup generator,you cant power 220 volt loads like well pumps and heat pumps.was supprised as i also thought it was a220 single phase generator since the coach was 50 amp.reading your rating plate on generator will tell hope this helps
__________________
ronster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 02:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by TQ60 View Post
Simple...

Measure voltage.

If both are L1 then each will measure 120 to ground but 0 between them.

If L1 and L2 it will be 120 to ground on each and 240 between them.

Be carefull...

This is the best way. Onan 7.5 & 8 KW generators are not 240 VAC so although the watts are available they are all on the same phase so 240 vac is not possible. The Onan 10 & 12.5 KW are 240 capable.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, onan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan 7500 (HDKAJ) won't shut off! jgfreer RV Systems & Appliances 3 08-17-2014 04:21 PM
Onan 7500 shutting down after 40 seconds DMM2 RV Systems & Appliances 13 05-29-2014 05:42 AM
Onan CMDQ 7500 toolz40 RV Systems & Appliances 2 05-21-2014 01:23 PM
onan 7500 gen issue scrapper1 RV Systems & Appliances 6 04-01-2014 07:54 PM
Can a Onan 5500 watt Marquis Gold be converted to propane Jasper7821 RV Systems & Appliances 22 01-23-2014 08:45 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.