Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
Onan generator high voltage to breakers

I completed a 300 mile shake down cruise this weekend. The A/C unit breaker started tripping more and more frequently as the weekend went on. I figured the breakers were just old. I checked all three in the converter today with the multimeter and got 131 volts on each one. This was done with the generator running normal with out the A/C on. One side of the breaker if for the A/C and the other is for the GCI outlet. The insulation is also melted on both wires close to the breaker. The insulation looks OK on the other two.

The Onen PDF manual I have says to adjust the governor for over voltage but does not say where it is or how to adjust it.

Is this something I can do?

How do I do it?

Onen BGE F series 1988 P30 Chassis

The switch on the dash is the deluxe, it has an hour meter and a rocker switch. The switch worked before I put the new interstate 6 volt Golf car batteries in it. Now, only the "off" switch will work. I must start the unit from outside.

Are these switches still available?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-03-2012, 02:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
I found the start switch on eBay.
__________________

__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
131 is exactly the max voltage with no load. If you check with the air cond, on, you will find the voltage is right. A circuit breaker trips from heat. So many campgrounds have low voltage and cause the CB's to overheat. f you replace the breaker, it will probably solve your problem






if you
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:07 PM   #4
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Loose connections will create resistance which equals heat. So, make certain all the screws on the breakers are tight. Check the neutral and ground buses too.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
Seems it is a small world. A close friend of mine used to work on generators. Onan's in particular. He told me to plug in a couple of heaters and turn them on full, this was they load they used to set the generators output. While the generator is under this load, lower the idle speed until the output at the breakers was around 115 volts. Then test it with the AC. He said to make sure it was also putting out 60 Hertz but I don't have a meter for that. I'll change the breaker as well.

Thanks mate!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ga traveler View Post
131 is exactly the max voltage with no load. If you check with the air cond, on, you will find the voltage is right. A circuit breaker trips from heat. So many campgrounds have low voltage and cause the CB's to overheat. If you replace the breaker, it will probably solve your problem.
__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:43 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
Onan remote switch FYI

Quote:
Originally Posted by PirateCamper View Post
The switch on the dash is the deluxe, it has an hour meter and a rocker switch. The switch worked before I put the new interstate 6 volt Golf car batteries in it. Now, only the "off" switch will work. I must start the unit from outside.

Are these switches still available?

Thanks in advance.
There is a yellow wire that comes off the plug on the side of the Onan. It runs to the remote start switch. It had been spliced and came apart. I repaired that and the switch works again.
__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
OK, my new multimeter checks Hertz. With the A/C on high cool, voltage at the breaker is 127 volts and 75 Hertz. If the meter is picking up additional noise I don't know. OEM is supposed to be 60 Hertz. I'll try to check it at the generator tonight.

It's not hot enough right now to really test the breaker out. Since it has cooled off, I may be in the clear until next summer. The A/C ran great for an hour without fail, new breaker was actually cool to the touch.
__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
I got the Ammeter yesterday but it failed to work. Today, I got it working.

With the A/C running high and lowest cool, I get 128 volts and 16 amps on the A/C wire. Now, when I pulled this breaker out to change it, there were two wires on the 20 amp side of it and one on the 15 side. All three are the same size. The label under the breaker said the 15 was for the A/C and the 20 was for the GFI outlet. No idea what the third wire is for. May unhook it, tape it and wait and see what fails to work.

I bent the wires away from the breaker so as not to forget which went where.
I hooked it back the way it was. All said and done, the A/c is on the 20 amp. It's pulling 16 amps. I checked the amps on the 30 amp main it also read 16 amps. So, if I can trust the meter, the A/C is pulling a few extra amps. It was 82 outside. Still pulling 75 hertz. If that meter is right. Getting cool now so I'm not going to sweat it.
__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:55 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by PirateCamper
I got the Ammeter yesterday but it failed to work. Today, I got it working.

With the A/C running high and lowest cool, I get 128 volts and 16 amps on the A/C wire. Now, when I pulled this breaker out to change it, there were two wires on the 20 amp side of it and one on the 15 side. All three are the same size. The label under the breaker said the 15 was for the A/C and the 20 was for the GFI outlet. No idea what the third wire is for. May unhook it, tape it and wait and see what fails to work.

I bent the wires away from the breaker so as not to forget which went where.
I hooked it back the way it was. All said and done, the A/c is on the 20 amp. It's pulling 16 amps. I checked the amps on the 30 amp main it also read 16 amps. So, if I can trust the meter, the A/C is pulling a few extra amps. It was 82 outside. Still pulling 75 hertz. If that meter is right. Getting cool now so I'm not going to sweat it.
I'd be a little concerned with the 75 hertz, should be between 58 and 62 from full load to no load.
__________________
IAN (houseboats are RV's on the water)
1988 Amera Coach 23ft, dodge 360, Onan 4k
imorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
awwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Biloxi, Ms
Posts: 199
If the 75hz is correct, your generator is running to fast. Speed controls the freg and the AVC controls the voltage on any generator worth it's salt. Using your manual find out how to adjust the governor to slow the engine down to the correct 60hz.

From NEMA

"The National Electrical Manufacturers Association's (NEMA) Motors and Generators Standards state that an increase in frequency results in a direct decrease in locked rotor torque and effective horsepower of the motor. If the load remains constant, this results in an increase in amperage drawn by the motor."
__________________
Wayne and Susan
2012 Georgetown 351 DS | 2012 Ford Focus-Brake Buddy
awwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
I'm going to get a new ammeter over the weekend. The one I borrowed was an old one. I'll verify my numbers.

I'm going to remove the generator from the Coach. The other spark plug can not be reached otherwise. It may be as old as sand. Seems the Florida owner has made a permanent mounting of the Onan. The slide in mount the Onan is bolted to is welded to the Coach generator box in two places.
A 2x2 wood frame runs from the front wheel well to the rear wheel well and two pieces of the 2x2 were then scabbed together and screwed to the full width of the drip pan of the Onan. This puts the drip pan at mid level of the 2x2. Then, the Onan is leaning forward/down a few degrees so that the tail pipe will clear under the 2x2. Yea, I added just enough additional oil to hit the middle of the dip stick.

I plan to pull it out and remodel the generator box as needed and adjust (heat and bend or replace) the exhaust pipe so the Genset can sit level and secure and still be removable for service and testing.

I'll cut the 2x2 in two places, then make flat stock metal braces for the front and back of each cut. Drill holes through the wood and metal, stainless steel bolts, nuts and lock washers should restore the integrity of the 2x2. A roll out would be very rice here... Hmmmm.

I'll set the Onan back to specs, replace the governor spring and test everything before and after its buttoned back up.

More to come!
__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:18 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NAS Pensacola, FL
Posts: 329
Before adjusting the generator speed verify the freq meter is operating correctly by checking shore power for 60hz. JM2...
__________________
Ted Fulltiming in the DreamCatcher a
2008 Challenger 371PE on F53 w/ 2010 Cobalt
R'V there yet?
teddyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:32 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
Yep, Thanks, I'll do that first. My luck I tweak it all wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teddyu View Post
Before adjusting the generator speed verify the freq meter is operating correctly by checking shore power for 60hz. JM2...
__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 12:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
PirateCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Swansea, South Carolina
Posts: 159
Picture of Onan mounting



Here is a shot of the board running along the bottom of the coach where it is attached to the drip pan of the Onan. You can see where the exhaust pipe goes under the board and that the genset is angled to the left or forward. I think they let the left feet get off the drip pan to create the angle. It is bolted to the drip pan.
__________________

__________________
1988 Coachmen 32 Ft. Sportscoach Pathfinder DL S
Class A gas, Chevy P37 Chassis 7.4L Engine
Retired Army, Swansea, South Carolina
PirateCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, onan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.