Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-21-2016, 08:09 PM   #1

Oops!

Howdy everybody. Jim and Boo here. Boo is a Boxer (dog).

Newbie here decided to buy an entry level RV to see if me and Boo would like the experience. I found a 1991 Atasca Sunflyer with only 24,000 miles on it about 5-miles from my farm for $2800. Bought it today. The drive home was exciting to say the least. The power steering didn't work and the brakes quit working. The engine surges, won't idle, and won't rev up. The little economy gauge just goes up and down without pause.

This puppy had been sitting up for 8 years that I know of (not even cranked). It has the original tires and they look good. I have no idea what is causing the surging, but I can't drive it to a garage, even if there was one in this podunk little town, and I live in the country.

It has a Chevy chassis with a 454 ci engine with throttle body. The gas tank is almost empty (of course). My first thought was the fluid level is at a point where it is only partially picking up fuel. The second is a faulty fuel pump. Any other ideas? Anyone else had this problem?

Jim
Invisable is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!