Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2012, 03:25 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Even if he wired it for 50 amps at 110 volts (Which by the way should be enough to run nearly everything, I mean that's all my generator generates) the outlets should have worked, there has to be another issue.

I am guessing a tripped breaker at house.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-16-2012, 05:56 PM   #44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 22
Negative. It was wired for 110V 50A and only the microwave outlet worked. Not sure how he wired it though, it is supposed to have 110V on each of two hot wires, so what did he do with the 110? I don't know. All I do know is that it works correctly now and it is wired as a standard 4 wire 220V outlet. Works perfectly now.
__________________

__________________
Dunnkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:35 PM   #45
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
Think of it this way......

Think of the 110v system in your RV as TWO separate systems. Each running off a different 'leg' of the 220v potential of a correctly wired 50A service. Typically one leg is 30A and the other is 20A.


Correct:

Left Hot------Neutral----------Right Hot
<---110v-20A->|<-------110V-30A--->

Incorrect:

Left Hot------Neutral------Right Hot
<---110v-50A-->|<----------0V--->
__________________
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:04 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddypaws View Post
Think of the 110v system in your RV as TWO separate systems. Each running off a different 'leg' of the 220v potential of a correctly wired 50A service. Typically one leg is 30A and the other is 20A.


Correct:

Left Hot------Neutral----------Right Hot
<---110v-20A->|<-------110V-30A--->

Incorrect:

Left Hot------Neutral------Right Hot
<---110v-50A-->|<----------0V--->

That is not correct. There are two 50 amp 110 volt legs of power, for a total of 100 amps of service.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:24 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
rgreen45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bradenton, Fl.
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by 38 Special View Post
That is not correct. There are two 50 amp 110 volt legs of power, for a total of 100 amps of service.
The breakers in the house panel are what sets the legs at 30A and 20A. generally the 20A leg just runs a second A/C unit.
__________________
Ray G.
ASE Master Med-Heavy Trucks
RVIA Certified
rgreen45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:28 PM   #48
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
Yep

38 Special is right! I looked it up and it is two 50A legs for a total of 100 Amps.

I've heard this mis-information so many times and from people who should know that I bought it!
__________________
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:13 AM   #49
Member
 
wickedrevs 56's Avatar
Commercial Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 44
Take a look at your RV breaker panels..... And on your generator outlet breakers...... One 30 amp feed, one 20 amp feed... Making it a 50 amp service.

Some times the pedestal or outlet will have a double fifty installed. Then you will have the potential for 100 amps of service, however the wire gauge for that amount of vantage is rarely used..... So caution at all times...
When I do conversions to "50 amp". I usually install a 30 amp main pb both legs incoming to the coach, split the loads equally as possible on both legs.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121117_000949.png
Views:	157
Size:	409.9 KB
ID:	29218



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121117_001012.png
Views:	133
Size:	320.1 KB
ID:	29219



These pics show 50 amp transfer switch, and two separate breaker boxes each with 30 amp master breakers. This is how it is done by certified RV technicians doing restoration, upgrades.
__________________
Certified RV Technician
www.allritervcenter.com
wickedrevs 56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:21 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
The factory wiring on my Monaco is:

20 amp - Central Vac
20 amp - Water Heater
20 amp - engine block heater
20 amp - Bedroom
20 amp - Front air conditioning

50 amp - main
50 amp - main

20 amp - refrigerator
20 amp - rear air conditioner
30 amp - inverter
20 amp - center air conditioner
30 amp - washer & dryer

I have never been to a park that did not have a 50 amp double pole breaker, or 100 amps of 110 volt power.

I see no way to run my coach on a 20 & 30 single pole, I got that on only two breakers.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:04 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by 38 Special View Post
The factory wiring on my Monaco is:

20 amp - Central Vac
20 amp - Water Heater
20 amp - engine block heater
20 amp - Bedroom
20 amp - Front air conditioning

50 amp - main
50 amp - main

20 amp - refrigerator
20 amp - rear air conditioner
30 amp - inverter
20 amp - center air conditioner
30 amp - washer & dryer

I have never been to a park that did not have a 50 amp double pole breaker, or 100 amps of 110 volt power.

I see no way to run my coach on a 20 & 30 single pole, I got that on only two breakers.
i don't know where you get 100 amps of 110 ???? you have 2- 120volt legs i.e. 50/50breaker. the amperage of a breaker is the protection of that circuit. the breaker should only be worked at 80% of its value. you have 2 phases (180 deg.apart)on 240 volts. that's how you can share one neutral. you you don't ask all the circuits to work at max. at the same time , that's how you have more circuit breaker value than main breaker value. check you stick house electrical panel. on newer houses you can find 24 breakers running on 200 amps.
__________________
wonderer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:14 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 390
imho--- 120/240 volts is not this hard. i suggest that for those of you that are this confused, read a book on basic home electrical. i.e. 120/240 volt. or only let a qualified electrican work on it. good question how do you know if he knows what he's doing ??? i was an electrican for some years and our company got lots of calls to fix other electrical companies mistakes. so my answer is read a book. then you'll only have to fix your mistakes. and you know what and where you worked. but this is a rv !!!! yes but you need to know the basics then add in the rv generator, converter, etc.
__________________
wonderer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:55 AM   #53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: seale, al
Posts: 164
I had this very problem last night, the outlets were not working, but the a/c was. I checked circuit breakers, gfi, found nothing. I only have a 30a outlet here at the house, and had the 50a cord plugged into an adapter. Seems as though one leg of the 50a cord was not making good contact. Re-inserted the plug, viola, problem solved.
__________________
2011 Bounder 36R pushed by a 2012 Chevy Equinox
alageezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:02 AM   #54
Senior Member
 
Clayobx's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Willow Lakes RV & Golf Resort, FL
Posts: 3,116
As others have suggested, most likely a bad GFI. The inverter is below a you will find a small push button to reset, if tripped it will "click". Best of luck!
__________________
Clay & Pebble.. Miss Butter our sweet Goldie (Jan. 2005-Jan. 2015) Sissy our Border Collie
2012 Providence 42 M. Spartan Chassis, 450 ISL
Ford Edge toad, RM All Terrane, TST TPMS, SMI Air Force One, RVM95....
Clayobx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:57 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 390
ground fault circuit interrupters need power to set the trip button. when power fails the trip button will stay set. if you push the button or use a tester it goes into the tripped position. then you can't resit it. if you have power and and the reset button will not reset, remove the gfi from the wall. if there's any thing on the load side (protected side) remove these wires. then try to reset. if it resets you have problems some where on the protected side. if it will not reset, then it's a bad gfi.
__________________
wonderer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:26 PM   #56
Member
 
wickedrevs 56's Avatar
Commercial Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 44
Yeah, hey total those breakers up, ????220 amps!!!!! That might get the old wires to glowing right?????
__________________

__________________
Certified RV Technician
www.allritervcenter.com
wickedrevs 56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.