Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
PJ73USAF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
My TV is a 19" HD/LCD,the power consumption is listed as 51W.I would like to power it with a "cigarette socket" plug in inverter.I've read that plug in inverters over 180W should not be used because the wiring to the outlet is not able to handle anything higher.I have read reviews of people using 300W plug in inverters without any apparent problems.I believe I could use a 175W plug in for my TV and it would be adequate,however I would like the flexibility of the 300W if it doesn't pose a safety hazard.Any advice? Thanks
__________________

__________________
PJ73USAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-04-2009, 05:24 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
PJ73USAF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
My TV is a 19" HD/LCD,the power consumption is listed as 51W.I would like to power it with a "cigarette socket" plug in inverter.I've read that plug in inverters over 180W should not be used because the wiring to the outlet is not able to handle anything higher.I have read reviews of people using 300W plug in inverters without any apparent problems.I believe I could use a 175W plug in for my TV and it would be adequate,however I would like the flexibility of the 300W if it doesn't pose a safety hazard.Any advice? Thanks
__________________

__________________
PJ73USAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 05:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Glenn and Kathy's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2000
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 1,200
I have used my 300W inverter in 2 different coaches and 2 different cars and never had a problem. Get one and try it, if the wiring is too light and it blows a fuse return it and get the 175. If it is fused correctly no harm should be done.

Glenn
__________________
2006 Sea Breeze LX 8341 on a Workhorse W22 Chassis with 22.5 Alcoa Alum wheels,
2011 Chevy Colorado 4X4 with Ready Brake
Glenn and Kathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 01:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
DAN L's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,898
the dc wiring to my original demented dimentions 300 watt inverter was #10 awg. you cannot get a lighter plug with that large a wire, thus you are restricted to less wattage from a lighter plug even if you do not blow the fuse.
the VECTOR 400 watt inverter i am currently using is restricted to 80 watts output when using the lighter power plug.
my new MAGNAVOX ZV450MW8A digital tuner dvd-vcr recorder did not like the power from the demented inverter, but works fine with the VECTOR.
the vector is a modified sine wave inverter. it is rather small, and has an internal cooling fan which is very noisy.
it powers my 2 crt tv's and the magnavox nicely.
__________________
01 WINNEBAGO 35U W20.8.1L SW Wa, Hi. Good Sam, SKP. AMSOIL fluids. BANKS ecm program. SCAN GAUGE II w/ Ally temp. 2 LIFELINE GPL-6CT AGM Batts on their sides. TST tptts. K&N panel air filter. AERO mufflers. TAYLOR plug wires. ULTRA POWER track bar. KONI fsd shocks, toad '14 smart car
DAN L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 06:27 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
The 300W inverter won't even blow a fuse if it is not pulling the full 300 watts. The lighter/utility outlet is usually fused for 10 or 15 amps, which is sufficient to let the inverter produce only 120-180 watts. Any actual load over that is going to blow a fuse.

In other words, even the 175 inverter is likely to blow the fuse if fully loaded. So the trick is to keep the load down in the 100-120 watt range. Your tv should work fine with either inverter.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northwestern Montana
Posts: 3,138
I would add to the above statements, to be sure your LCD TV "likes" the AC power from your inverter. The new LCD I installed in our motorhome runs much warmer on the inverter than when powered by shore or generator power. It will eventually shut down until it cools off. The old CRT worked great on the same inverter. Now shopping for a pure sine wave inverter to power the new TV.

Dieselclacker
__________________
Dieselclacker
dieselclacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 02:27 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
PJ73USAF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
I tried a Duracell 175W,MSW inverter today.It got power to the TV,but when I tried to turn it on nothing would happen. The power light on the TV would momentarily go out and the red fault light on the inverter would come on.They both would then recycle back to normal.Could the start up surge requirement be higher than what this inverter is able to deliver?Would the larger 300W take care of this?Or could it be that the power must be True Sine Wave to work?
This is a Olevia made 19",I couldn't find any start up surge requirement in the specifications and it isn't a 12V.Thanks
__________________
PJ73USAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 06:38 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
I can't think of any reason why an LCD would have a start-up surge. CRTs do, but I would not expect it of an LCD.

I wonder if your battery voltage is going too low when the load (tv) comes on? That would cause the inverter to shut down and most will come back on as soon as the voltage comes up again.

Can you monitor battery voltage when this happens?
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 05:32 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,604
I used an add on inverter in my old Vectra to run my high power laptop (required 150w). I used the built in inverter to run the TV and sat receiver.

To solve the lighter plug problem I connected my 400w inverter directly to the coach batteries. The inverter came with both a light plug and clips to attach to a battery. I then ran a 120v extension cable to the laptop. It's much easily to run 120v AC than 12v DC.

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 02:44 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
PJ73USAF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks to all for your insight.I've decided to go with a hard wire hook up to the house batteries.I don't believe the 12V outlet is able to provide sufficient power to run the TV.Thanks again
__________________

__________________
PJ73USAF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added 3-way plug to inverter. AKBrick Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 08-25-2007 12:00 PM
Inverter Plug Location Mach428 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 01-31-2007 02:56 AM
Inverter plug outlet cookie monster Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 07-16-2006 12:23 PM
Simple Inverter Hook Up? Plug my 50 amp to the inverter? E Z Livin MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 12-19-2005 03:59 AM
"Fresh" water question, & Inverter/Battery question Dagwood_73 Boondocking 7 07-29-2005 02:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.