Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2014, 06:57 PM   #15
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brooksville,Florida
Posts: 65
Where did you find the 30 AMP plug with a circuit breaker in the same panel?
__________________

__________________
carluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-26-2014, 07:02 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
djbmsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,806
Remember if you do want to run your fridge, be sure you are parked "level" in your drive ( or anywhere for that matter) RV fridges do not like being off level and you won't like the results
__________________

__________________
Don and Nancy
[2014 40QBH Phaeton, 2015 Buick Enclave, 2yr old sisters Sara n Kaycee, Havanese, Two Segways
djbmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 07:43 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Virago-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by carluv View Post
Where did you find the 30 AMP plug with a circuit breaker in the same panel?

I got the plug at Dean's RV in tulsa, got the box/enclosure at Lowes. I took the plug with me to lowes and said " I need a box for this".


Sent from my iPad2 using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
1998 Thor Windsport 33SL
2007 Chevy Uplander toad (tow master dolly)
1985 Yamaha Virago XV700
Virago-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 10:03 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 234
Just installed a 30 amp RV plug. Got all the parts....plug, box, wire, breaker and waterproof cover for $47 at Lowes. Go online and google installing a 30 amp rv plug. Some good youtube videos and some great printable instructions. Not a big deal.
__________________
Ron & Susan
2014 Palazzo 36.1
2013 Subaru Outback
TK IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 12:21 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
One suggestion.. IF you have a professional install a special RV outlet go with 50 amp.. here is why.

Full power to a 50 amp rig (If you have a 30 amp rig and later upgrade you will like the 50)

Most important: MANY threads in the forums started by folks who hired an electrician to put in a 30 amp and the electrician wired it for a welder or other 240 volt device and fried the electronics in the RV letting all the magic smoke escape.

That does not often happen with 50 amp outlets.. Those they get right 9 times out of 9.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 01:36 PM   #20
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostdog View Post
AMEN! Went through three residential electricians before I found one that KNEW that 50 amp RV is different than a stove connection.
Lostdog
I'm sure you meant to say "30 amp RV is different than a stove connection".
(If you tried to find a residential electrician "that KNEW that 50 amp RV is different than a stove connection", you would still be looking).

As you must know, a 50A receptacle is a 50A receptacle, (whether for a RV or a stove).
see: The 50-amp 120/240-volt 3 pole 4

However 30A RV receptacles ARE different than 30A residential receptacles.
see: The 30-amp 120-volt 2 pole 3 wir

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 03:25 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,586
I am going to put in a standard 120v plug just to keep the batteries topped and to run a small dehumidifier over the summer humid months. Anything big will require exercising the generator if at home, which isn't a bad thing to do anyhow.
__________________
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 11:30 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Jupiter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 557
We don't store our rig at home but do occasionally have it in the driveway for days at a time. I've been plugged in to a 15 amp outlet for charging and minor electrical needs. No A/C's, microwaving, etc. However, I did trip on a few occasions when I inadvertently had the water heater turned on and residential fridge.

I recently installed a 30 amp, 120volt RV outlet which allows us to even run one A/C unit when needed and not worry about tripping breakers.

Got the outlet box, wire and breaker at Lowe's for under $100.00. I had to use 6 gauge wire because of the length of run from the panel to the outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0774.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	315.2 KB
ID:	64024  
__________________
Jupiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 11:41 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Gordon Dewald's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10,166
We installed a 50 amp service for the RV. We are done - no retrofitting required.
__________________
Gordon and Janet
Tour 42QD/inTech Stacker
Gordon Dewald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 07:36 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel s View Post
Lostdog
I'm sure you meant to say "30 amp RV is different than a stove connection".
(If you tried to find a residential electrician "that KNEW that 50 amp RV is different than a stove connection", you would still be looking).

As you must know, a 50A receptacle is a 50A receptacle, (whether for a RV or a stove).
see: The 50-amp 120/240-volt 3 pole 4

However 30A RV receptacles ARE different than 30A residential receptacles.
see: The 30-amp 120-volt 2 pole 3 wir

Mel
'96 Safari
Talking about how it is wired. 120V vs 240V. Caution.
__________________
Chuck n Terri
2017 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB
2016 Chevy 3500 Duramax
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:34 AM   #25
NRR
Senior Member
 
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 284
Make sure that the coach battery charger is a three stage. If it is not, it will boil the water out of the batteries.
__________________
NRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 12:06 PM   #26
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostdog View Post
Talking about how it is wired. 120V vs 240V. Caution.
Lostdog
50A RVreceptacles ARE wired 240V, (exactly the same as "residential 50A 240V receptacles")!
However, 50A RVs "see" and "use" 50A receptacles as "2 separate 120V lines/legs".
"It is a misconception that 50-amp RV service is something special. This service is a STANDARD 120/240 50-amp 3 pole with 4 prongs used for numerous applications".

For further explanation, please see, (and READ): The 50-amp 120/240-volt 3 pole 4

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 12:21 PM   #27
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by NRR View Post
Make sure that the coach battery charger is a three stage. If it is not, it will boil the water out of the batteries.
NRR

And that the "charge settings" of your 3 stage charger are set correctly, if not the same thing will happen)!
Mel
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I run the coach on the house batteries? Goofaroo RV Systems & Appliances 26 05-04-2014 01:10 PM
House and Chassis Batteries Dead in 9 Days ProjectPro Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 03-30-2014 09:16 PM
Coachmen: Charging House Batteries steinjef Forest River Owners Forum 4 02-08-2014 06:18 AM
No house power dalypc12 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 08-23-2013 07:55 AM
No 12V house power smlranger Country Coach Owners Forum 3 06-24-2013 10:38 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.