Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2014, 08:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Plugging RV into the house

We just bought a 1995 Thor residency We would like plug it into the house and run it of our electricity while it's in the driveway my big question is what is the best way to Do thisthank you so much for any info you can provide
__________________

__________________
lost024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-25-2014, 08:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Virago-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 681
In you are plugging it in to just run refrigerator, or do some cleaning, you can usually get away with a 20 amp adapter. However if you are going to run the A/C, microwave, hotwater heater or other high demand items, you will most likely want to install a 30 or 50 amp connector.

We bought a 30 amp outlet and box for less than $100. I ran the wire and mounted the box then had a local electrician come tie it in. He charged $50. So for less than $150 we can plug in and have everything working.


Sent from my iPad2 using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

__________________
1998 Thor Windsport 33SL
2007 Chevy Uplander toad (tow master dolly)
1985 Yamaha Virago XV700
Virago-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 08:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Lost024, I put a 30amp receptacle for our travel trailer, it had its own breaker and all. I only ran my a/c from time to time and it pulled less than 20amps on start up. Now, on our 97 Vectra,I made sure that I have a 20amp standard house type receptacle. I use a 12ga 3conductor drop cord now. I've ran the a/c and fridge, tv, for the kids, no problems, and no overheating of the cord.
__________________
LNDIXON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 09:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
waroland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mt Juliet, TN (Homebase)
Posts: 432
Just remember that a 30 amp RV plug is 120 volts and not 220 volts. If you get an electrician be sure he knows how to wire for a RV.
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Revolution 38B
2006 Honda CR-V Air Force One
waroland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 09:53 PM   #5
rpk
Senior Member
 
rpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hood River, OR
Posts: 119
Extension Cord

If you do use an extension cord for rv power, make sure it is 20 amp cord. I had a lighter cord on a reel feeding the bus and it melted the insulation because it was on a reel.
__________________
rpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpk View Post
If you do use an extension cord for rv power, make sure it is 20 amp cord. I had a lighter cord on a reel feeding the bus and it melted the insulation because it was on a reel.
Glad you're pointing this out, been there done that
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Longhorn Dually, Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Hitch, 2017 Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Pexring's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 586
I added a 30A outlet to the front of the garage where I park my motorhome. Actually, when I ran the wire I used a wire suitable for a 50A outlet. If my next motorhome requires a 50A service, all I have to do is replace the 30A plug with a 50A plug, and change the breaker in the electrical panel. Til then, each end of the extra wire is capped. Yep, all work was signed-off by an electrical inspector. Did it all for under $100.
__________________
Pexring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 10:07 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
TBS-POPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Valley Springs, Ca
Posts: 368
Any 110v outlets in the garage walls or exterior of the house will most likely be on a GFIC and only supply 15 amps of service. This is ok if only running the refer and lights. I have found that if there is a garage door opener, the plug in the ceiling is not GFCI and will supply more amps. As stated, use a heavy 20 amp extension cord if needed but no extension is best. Save yourself headaches later an get a 30 or 50 amp plug installed on the house or in the garage.
__________________
2018 Vilano 375FL
2017 F-350 CC DRW 6.7
TBS-POPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 11:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
dvmweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 982
If you are going to be rving for a long time, be safe and spend the money to have the appropriate work done by an electrician. If you can do it ok, but, if you screw up and burn your house down, well .... Think insurance liability, browning/burning out motors and compressors, electrical fires, etc. Good idea to spend for heavier duty 50 amp type wire, even if you have a 30 amp rig. If you look around on this forum you will find many disasters and near misses with shore power episodes.
__________________
dvmweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 01:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by waroland View Post
Just remember that a 30 amp RV plug is 120 volts and not 220 volts. If you get an electrician be sure he knows how to wire for a RV.
AMEN! Went through three residential electricians before I found one that KNEW that 50 amp RV is different than a stove connection.
__________________
Chuck n Terri
2017 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB
2016 Chevy 3500 Duramax
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 05:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
lmcgill's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 137
I installed a 50 Amp RV service in our garage. I bought the box and breaker from Home Depot that was specifically for a RV. There was some good wiring diagrams on the internet and I did ask my electrician for confirmation on how I had it wired. It was actually very strait forward, having 50 Amp service when I am packing up or washing the coach is so nice to have.
__________________
American Coach 2012 Revolution 42W
*****SOLD*****
lmcgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
For limited electrical use (Battery charger, Fridge, and possible ONE A/C when loading, or (not and) a vacuum cleaner)

12 ga extension cord and a puck style 30 (or 50) to 15 adapter.. I like the 12 ga cords from Sears/K-Mart with the push button on the outlet end that you push to plug in and unplug. (locks the adapter on.

For a 50 amp rig in a 30 amp site or a 30 amp rig on a 50-only site (There is one of those in this park, 2 in fact) A DOG-BONE adapter, this is a short cord with the needed plug and socket.

Readdy Kilowatt's rules

On 20 amp, one Big ticket item only, DO NOT turn on AC, Water heater, or Microwave, DO NOT try vacuuming rig, with low batteries, Leave plugged in at least overnight before using these devices.

on 30 amp.. You may use one of the above immed, Two once the batteries are well fed.

50 amp All the electric you can eat.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
http://www.rvpowerprotection.com/Lin...%20Service.pdf

A nice summary of 50amp.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:56 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost024 View Post
We just bought a 1995 Thor residency We would like plug it into the house and run it of our electricity while it's in the driveway my big question is what is the best way to Do thisthank you so much for any info you can provide

What do you intend to run off while connected? Knowing that will give us an idea of what you would need. If you want to run air conditioners and microwave then you probably need the 50 amp but if you are only running lower power draw appliances you can get by with less. At home we do not use the high power appliances so a standard 120 volt outlet is sufficient.
__________________

__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I run the coach on the house batteries? Goofaroo RV Systems & Appliances 26 05-04-2014 01:10 PM
House and Chassis Batteries Dead in 9 Days ProjectPro Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 03-30-2014 09:16 PM
Coachmen: Charging House Batteries steinjef Forest River Owners Forum 4 02-08-2014 06:18 AM
No house power dalypc12 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 08-23-2013 07:55 AM
No 12V house power smlranger Country Coach Owners Forum 3 06-24-2013 10:38 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.