Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2013, 11:48 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Power Gear Auto leveling sys

I have the Power Gear automatic leveling system in my 2005 Airstream diesel pusher Freightliner chassis with the cockpit touch pad # 500629. They work very well and I have always leveled by pressing Auto. There are time when I would like to tweak the level somewhat usually to raise the front just a little in order to have the AC condensate flow toward the rear. The instructions that I have cover the Auto mode and the Manual mode but not have to made minor adjustments after the auto mode has leveled the coach. Is this possible, thanks
__________________

__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-17-2013, 12:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jtermini30's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Henrico, VA
Posts: 421
Great question!
__________________

__________________
Good things come to those that wait.
jtermini30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 1,182
I have a "Level Best" system in my unit that also has auto and manual functions. After using the auto mode, I can then simply use the buttons to "fine tune" if desired. I would expect that yours might likely work in a similar fashion.
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tom77hmstd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: homestead fl.
Posts: 280
After auto level and it stops hold manuel button till the lite comes on then you can tweek it till you get it where you want it. On ours the front is always a tad low so I do it all the time. There is a way to reprogram autolevel if it is way off.
__________________
Tom Homestead Fl.
2006 National RV Tradewinds 40D
tom77hmstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazoo Tom View Post
I have a "Level Best" system in my unit that also has auto and manual functions. After using the auto mode, I can then simply use the buttons to "fine tune" if desired. I would expect that yours might likely work in a similar fashion.
That is what I was wondering. But didn't see any reference to this in the instructions that I have or in operation manuals found by Google searching.
__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom77hmstd View Post
After auto level and it stops hold manuel button till the lite comes on then you can tweek it till you get it where you want it. On ours the front is always a tad low so I do it all the time. There is a way to reprogram autolevel if it is way off.
Ok I will try that thanks
__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
danes-on-tour's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and Spain
Posts: 1,975
Yes - you can adjust it manually after it has levelled it self. Have a look at page 4 in the manual. This is better than me trying to explain what to do.

__________________
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.lasramblas.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 11:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by danes-on-tour View Post
Yes - you can adjust it manually after it has levelled it self. Have a look at page 4 in the manual. This is better than me trying to explain what to do.


These are the same instructions I have, thanks for the pdf to save as a backup on my computer. I will try the manual adjustment the next time I have the coach out. In looking over the preventative maintenance section I am going to follow the steps outlined and keep ongoing records. To check the fluid level I will need to see if my system has a dipstick or check the fill port if it doesn't. Any thoughts
__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 11:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
danes-on-tour's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and Spain
Posts: 1,975
My fluid reservoir has got a dipstick attached to the plug. However - I never use it. It has no "level mark" on it.

I wait until the system starts to chime, and then I add little bit. There is a weep hole at the end of my tank. I am meant to fill the tank until it comes out of that hole. I don't use that either.

Someone will probably slap my wrist for writing this, but that's how I do it, and it works for me.
__________________
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.lasramblas.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 06:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by danes-on-tour View Post
Yes - you can adjust it manually after it has levelled it self. Have a look at page 4 in the manual. This is better than me trying to explain what to do.

\

Followed the instructions for manual operation and all worked fine. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
leveling, power, power gear



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.