Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2014, 10:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Power problems

I got a Alfa Gold MH and i think it is 2005 not sure on the year however when plugged into the shore power i got power to the cabin and slides but not to the chassis and the exterior electric slide step at the main door any thoughts on what might be causing this would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
needhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-21-2014, 10:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Do you have a voltmeter/multi-meter?
Have you tested the chassis batteries voltage ?
Do you have any info on the coach at all?
Brand name of the steps ?
Have the steps ever worked , since you purchased the RV ?
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 12:45 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
When my Folks bought the the MH they were told ALL systems were working and the step did work until last week also how much do you know about refrigerators it gets cold on power but not propane and i can't find anything wrong on the outside and i can hear it/see burn the propane. any ideas on this thanks
__________________
needhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 01:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
The step control module has internal load sensors that will stop operation of the motor to prevent burn-out , in case of binding or jamming into objects or the ground. Try lubing the hinges in the mechanism. Use caution as it may start moving if the lube gets things loose. Control module is underneath the coach and should have the step makers name on it, so you can get a troubleshooting manual.
What brand of fridge?
Dometic uses a swirl baffle in the chimney to direct the heat from the flame against the chimney walls for best operation, is this baffle rusts out , pieces drop on the burner causing poor flame and LP system operation.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 01:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,217
Steps are often on the chassis batteries. Since you don't have power there, I'd be sure a battery isolation switch isn't turned off. Look near entrance for battery shut off switches for both house and chassis batteries.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 01:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Cousin Ed's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 938
I bet you have a switch somewhere that turns off the chassis electric. Check to make sure it is turned on before you get too involved checking other stuff.
__________________

__________________
Jeanie, Ed & Slade the GSD
Cape Cod, MA
2017 Entegra Aspire RBQ & Sierra Crew
Cousin Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hybrid Solar / Shore Power Solution Wanted SteveUpp Going Green 20 09-23-2014 07:32 AM
No Power from Shore Power and will not charge batteries Airstream14 Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 07-07-2014 09:04 AM
Kwikee Jacks Will Not Power Up Yellowboat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 02-15-2014 10:09 PM
2003 Alpine FDTS power problems bgames Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 18 12-15-2013 07:52 PM
Power to antenna power booster Ace 123 Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 5 11-09-2013 09:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.