Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 08-25-2016, 03:28 PM   #1
Question Power Sharing

I'm new to the motorhome world. I bought a used 2001 Newmar Dutch Star.
Which my wife has named" Dutchess.". Anyway I have a couple of questions. We just made a short trip of around 500 miles round trip. During the trip I had the Generator shut down because of high temp. Checked everything and couldn't find anything wrong. Coolant was good, oil was good ect. We ran this generator in the driveway for about 8 hours and it never shut down. I have read online that other people have had this problem before, but I didn't see any solutions.
The other thing is one time it started running on its own also. I don't know how to check to see if I have a automatic start system or not. It only did it once.

One more thing, on my coverter/inverter what does power sharing mean and how does it work. How does changing the setting lets say from 50 amp to 30 amp or even lower. ? TIA

Wandering2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!