Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2011, 01:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
saddlecreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, Fl.
Posts: 24
Blog Entries: 1
Pre chill the refrigerator

Before we take a road trip I start up the refrigerator the evening before to get it cold for the morning. The thing is to prechill the refrigerator it's running on propane all night because I don't have a 30 or 50 amp hook up at home.
Here is my question. Can I run a 110 electric line from my home source directly into my refrigerator outlet thats located in the rear of the refrigerator? It's easily accessable by removing the outside cover. Or does the refrigerator run off 12 volts even though your plugged into a 30/50 amp circuit. The oulet and electric plug looks like a 110 system.
__________________

__________________
saddlecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-07-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by saddlecreek View Post
Before we take a road trip I start up the refrigerator the evening before to get it cold for the morning. The thing is to prechill the refrigerator it's running on propane all night because I don't have a 30 or 50 amp hook up at home.
Here is my question. Can I run a 110 electric line from my home source directly into my refrigerator outlet thats located in the rear of the refrigerator? It's easily accessable by removing the outside cover. Or does the refrigerator run off 12 volts even though your plugged into a 30/50 amp circuit. The oulet and electric plug looks like a 110 system.
From what I know , you can use that plug , however the refer. also needs 12 volt especially the circuit board, so if your batteries are switched off it won't work. Just leave your batteries on and for the 110 get an adapter to go from whatever you have ( 50 or 30 amp ) down to 20 amp and you won't have to unplug the refer
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,929
If you have a meter check it, but It should be 110 and should be the source for 110v when you select the fridge option to run off 110. BTW why not just plug your MH into a 110 v making sure that a) you use a strong enough cord b) only run the fridge?

Tom
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hanson ma
Posts: 206
i do not have an rv outlet at my home i run the fridge most of the time on electric through an 110v ext cord pluged into the shore cord for my unit. yes you could plug just the fridge in with an ext cord but you need 12v power to run the fridge controls so if your battery is ok it will work lee
__________________
hometool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 03:25 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
I plug my 50 amp shore power via an adapter to 15 amp regular outlet and just keep all other things turned off. If it is too much then all it does is pop the house CB then I will go and turn off my Aqua Hot electric hot water heater and will be OK. When I go to my sister's house I run my whole MH for a week or two off of a regular outlet. I use a 20 amp breaker vice a 15 amp but never have a problem. Can't run any AC anf can't run my wife's hair curler and the microwave but sure can run my residential fridge
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 05:02 PM   #6
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 22,300
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Canter View Post
I plug my 50 amp shore power via an adapter to 15 amp regular outlet and just keep all other things turned off.
Same here. We plug into a GFCI outlet in our garage. Works just fine to pre-cool the fridge.

Lori-
__________________
Lori & Dave - FMA #3415 | FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 36Z & 2014 Honda CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
NLOVNIT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 05:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jackrobinryan's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wherever
Posts: 432
I've found that a loading a couple cases of COLD (Miller Lite...insert the name of your favorite beverage here) helps to get the fridge ready for departure.....
__________________
2007 Adventurer 38T w/
sway & trac bars, Koni FSDs and SafeT+
2006 Jeep Liberty toad
jackrobinryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:27 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Hi Lori, that is interesting that you can plug into a GFCI outlet im garage. I have not been able to do that on my last two MHs at my house so I have to use a none GFCI plug. Maybe I need a new GFCI outlet.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
sknight's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 908
I haven't tried the GFCI outlets at home, but I plug into regular 15A shore power all the time. So long as you don't run the AC you should be fine to do everything else. I charge the batteries, chill the fridge, vacuum, run the radio etc. and the voltage does just fine. If a cold snap catches me I'll even run the furnace (12V system, but it's still got to be a fair load.) overnight with no issues

Mike I wonder if the GFCI detects your converter and doesn't like something it sees.
__________________
2001 HO Cummins powered Dodge 2500
2014 Sierra 346RETS
Nights camped in 2014-28
sknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ccook129's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Anderson,IN
Posts: 407
15AMP Male to 30AMP Female Dogbone RV Cord Adapter 12'' - eBay (item 160532769699 end time Feb-14-11 05:49:20 PST)
__________________
ccook129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 819
The garage is normally 20amp. If your gfci is kicking it off circuit on the refrigerator alone. It probably requires further investigation. That's not right.

Kerry
__________________
two-niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:59 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
4Knights's Avatar
 
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,796
If you go to the local hardware store or building supply electrical section you can purchase a plug in that has 2 15 amp male plugs on one side and a Female 30 amp on the other side. When you plug in outside the house or in the garage it will provide the 30amps you're looking for. Your garage outlet should be GFCI if it's not then purchase one at the same time Turn off the breaker to that outlet box replace the non GFCI with the GFCI and then turn the breaker back on.
Ron
__________________
Ron & Wendy-Kansas
94 Pace Arrow 34 ft
25 yr Army retired 2006
4Knights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:01 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
saddlecreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, Fl.
Posts: 24
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks to all who helped me out with the refrig question. I'm going to get a dogbone to try it out
__________________
saddlecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:02 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
4Knights's Avatar
 
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,796
It works but your only getting 15 amps see my post above to get the 30 you need
Ron
__________________

__________________
Ron & Wendy-Kansas
94 Pace Arrow 34 ft
25 yr Army retired 2006
4Knights is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Operating Refrigerator on Inverter Deerhunter MH-General Discussions & Problems 19 07-31-2010 11:19 AM
So, yer RV refrigerator has gone bad eh? Gary - K7GLD Vintage RV's 4 10-15-2009 04:43 PM
No Frills Pre Rally at Chula Vista RV Resort Dave Fernandez Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 08-15-2009 01:44 PM
Refrigerator options Phillip McGregor RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-31-2008 03:28 AM
Running Refrigerator off Inverter? theroc Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 23 04-05-2008 11:02 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.