Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2012, 08:08 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 309
Programmable thermostat with two A/Cs

I'd like to install a programmable thermostat in my 2011 Canyon Star, primarily to be able to have the furnace come on before we get up. I have one furnace, but two roof A/Cs. Is there a programmable thermostat that is capable of handling two A/Cs?
__________________

__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-09-2012, 09:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jclarkfork's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Clark Fork, Idaho
Posts: 102
great question, now were are the replies?
__________________

__________________
John & Jeanne
2013 Thor Challenger 37KT Ford V-10
Clark Fork, Id
jclarkfork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclarkfork View Post
great question, now were are the replies?
Here is a reply I received on another forum:

"If you have the older 5 button CCC 1, then to upgrade to the CCC2 will require BOTH AC control boards replaced as well as buying the watt CCC2 tstat. There is NO aftermarket system that will plug and play for your factory system which should be a Dometic Roof AC system. Now if the furnace is your ONLY programmable item you want to control, you can disconnect the furnace from the AC control system AT the furnace (just 2 wires) and install an aftermarket type programmable tstat that would only control the furnace. I am assuming Newmar still installs Dometic AC units and controls on your 2011. Last, IF you have Dometic then NO OTHER tstat or system can be used on your RV, other than Dometic CCC systems. But as I stated, you CAN use another type just for your furnace."

CCC is the Dometic Comfort Control Center. I have the 5-button CCC1; here is a link to the CCC2: Dometic 3312024.023 Duo Therm Comfort Control 2 CCC2 White
__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredBob View Post
I'd like to install a programmable thermostat in my 2011 Canyon Star, primarily to be able to have the furnace come on before we get up. I have one furnace, but two roof A/Cs. Is there a programmable thermostat that is capable of handling two A/Cs?
Yes, but you have to have two remote sensors to pass information back to the thermostat to tell it when to cycle on and off.
__________________
2008 AC Allegiance 42G, Spartan, ISL
hooverbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverbill View Post
Yes, but you have to have two remote sensors to pass information back to the thermostat to tell it when to cycle on and off.
Well, I already have two sensors--one in the thermostat and another in the bedroom. The two A/Cs operate independently of each other.
__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
What model AC's do you have? That will determine what you can get. You may have answered that by saying:
Quote:
CCC is the Dometic Comfort Control Center. I have the 5-button CCC1; here is a link to the CCC2: Dometic 3312024.023 Duo Therm Comfort Control 2 CCC2 White
But not sure if you are saying you have the 5 button CCC (which has the ability your looking for built in) but may require some board replacements depending on what you have.

Dave
__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave78Chief View Post

But not sure if you are saying you have the 5 button CCC (which has the ability your looking for built in) but may require some board replacements depending on what you have.

Dave
Dave, not sure I follow you. I have the 5-button CCC Dometic 3109228.001 Duo Therm Comfort Control 5 Button . It is not programmable.
__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
Sorry, I was thinking you wanted to use one controller to operate 2 ACs and the heater which the 5 Button CCC can do. The answer in the other forum was correct. Due to the way Dometic designed the thermostat interface, the only programmable unit is the CCC2 (http://www.earthboundrv.com/wp-conte...l-Center-1.pdf). It does seem a bit restricted in it's capabilities though.

Dave
__________________

__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Towing with a Duramax pdiddley Duramax Engine Forum 29 11-12-2012 07:15 PM
Faulty heat pump thermostat? fergo27 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 05-14-2012 10:14 AM
Crossing Canadian Border into Canada with gun Darlene77 Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 23 04-12-2012 05:30 PM
Questions for folks with larger class A bubbletruck Boondocking 17 04-12-2012 12:37 PM
Would we be happy with a Class C? fam5rving Class C Motorhome Discussions 18 04-12-2012 09:15 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.