Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-17-2016, 11:25 AM   #1

Progressive EMS and Surge Protectors

I am still a newbie to the RV world having owned my Class A motorhome for one year and I am getting over whelmed with making the right decisions on buying items such as the best: Roadside service; TPMS, insurance, whether to get an extended warranty, and now which is the best surge protector. I have decided to go with the Progressive brand (because of the lifetime warranty) and I understand that different systems provide different levels of protection, that you will pay for. My question to those of you that have much more knowledge and experience than I do is: Would I be adequately covered for electrical protection by going with the Progressive SSP-XL 50 amp unit at a cost of $ 119.00 or do I need to spend the extra dollars to get the more expensive EMS-PTC 50C unit at $ 325.00? It sounds like the SSP-XL provides more than just surge protection and maybe would give me the basic protection I need, without having to break the bank? I would greatly appreciate any input or advice from those with more experience than I.
Thanks,
Dave
dlduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!