Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2013, 10:34 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
I have the remote mounted in the kitchen right next to my battery monitor and I find it kind of irritating as it goes through it sequence of checks L!, 120v, Xamps, L2, etc. I kinda wish it would dim a bit or only come on when there is an error, but hey, it's good the protection is there.
You are right, I didn't notice that at first. Sorry about that.
__________________

__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-08-2013, 12:08 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post

I have the remote mounted in the kitchen right next to my battery monitor and I find it kind of irritating as it goes through it sequence of checks L!, 120v, Xamps, L2, etc. I kinda wish it would dim a bit or only come on when there is an error, but hey, it's good the protection is there.
You can make it as dim as you need by going to a photo shop and purchase Neutral Density Filters of a chosen high density. Then cut and tape the top section to the display. It will hang over the red LED's to dim them. If needed, at any time you can lift up the filter to see it at full brightness.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 12:38 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Gearhead383's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 188
Steve, I just got done installing one without the remote display. Very easy to do. I did have to make a small change once my unit was installed. I needed to wire in a bypass switch. With the unit bypassed, it still provides surge protection however, it can't monitor for over/under voltages, open neutrals and grounds, etc. I discovered when I hooked my little Honda EU2000 generator up to the motor home, it sensed an open ground and would not allow current to pass. Therefore, I could run anything off of the Honda generator. Once the bypass switch was installed, I was back up and working. It was easy to do. All I did was purchase a rocker switch from Radio Shack and wired up as per the manufactures instructions that I attached.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf EMS-LCHW50 Bypass Instructions.pdf (272.5 KB, 58 views)
__________________
Ron & Lara
03 H/R Endeavor 34PBD -330 ISC
Gearhead383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 06:04 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 852
I would definitely wire after the xfer switch to protect shore and genny inputs. My last onan failure output 160v to the rv.
__________________
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:37 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
My remote display has a switch to turn it off.

Chuck
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:19 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 3,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by wigginsjsr View Post
I don't agree that generators don't have voltage problems. In fact, one of the things that fails most often on generators is the voltage regulator. There are several postings on this and other forums where generator failure has put very high voltage into the coach with substantial damage to electronics.

The transfer switch is a fairly inexpensive item to replace compared to damaged electronics in the coach. I always install my Progressive after the transfer switch in order to provide protection for both power sources. If the Progressive unit should ever fail, it has a bypass that only requires flipping a switch; so, there is no reason the generator cannot be used.

The biggest problem with installing after the transfer switch is that the transfer switch is not easily accessed in many MH. If you are going to the expense and work to make this installation, why not get all the protection available?
I agree with you. A transfer sw is sacrificable. The electronics in the Quiet Site gensets of modern coaches has many checks to qualify the power before it connects. But failures do happen. Loosing everything in the coach because of a missing neutral or high power serge does not make for happy camping.
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson, 2011 Itasca Meridian 40U, Freightliner XCL, Cummins ISL 380HP/DEF, Allison 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox tow equip., TST 507 TPMS, TruCenter steering control, Hughes auto transformer.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 11:37 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
Here it is for $100 dollars cheaper than Amazon. But you do have to pay for shipping.

Progressive Electrical Management System, Hardwire 50A/240V EMS-HW50C

First of all, if you switch it off on the remote display, it turns off the display but it also bypasses some of the protection.

Second, you can make a data cable longer than the 14 foot display cable they supply, mine is 25 feet long and works. I like my display inside. Mine has has provided protection from "over voltage", "undervoltage", and "surge" numerous times. It is nice to know why it cut power without going outside to look in the utility compartment.

Third, why not install it after your transfer switch to provide protection for both shore power and generator. Just buy a short piece of 4 conductor wire, (the proper AWG) and connect it to the output of the transfer switch and the surge protector, then connect the disconnected power wire going to the circuit breaker panel, to the surge protector output.

It has paid for itself over the last few years. I think they should be standard equipment on all Motor homes.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:06 PM   #22
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgscott4 View Post

First of all, if you switch it off on the remote display, it turns off the display but it also bypasses some of the protection.

It has paid for itself over the last few years. I think they should be standard equipment on all Motor homes.
On my remote display, when the switch has been put in Bypass mode, the display remains lit with the word OFF.

Again, there are safety devices which when working will prevent generator power from damaging the RV. However, anything built by humans can fail, even the HW-50C EMS system that protects the RV from errant power conditions or for that matter any of the LPG, CO and Fire/Smoke alarm detectors I guess could fail too and no one would know the difference.

Where you choose to mount the PI EMS system is up to each individual. For those that have chosen to purchase potable models it would be difficult to be protected from errant generator voltage unless plugged directly into the generator first.

I think if you took a survey looking for how often generators were to fail with errant power and actually damaged devices inside the RV, you would find that it was very minimal versus encountering RV Parks and campgrounds with errant power problems.

JMHO.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:39 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgscott4 View Post

First of all, if you switch it off on the remote display, it turns off the display but it also bypasses some of the protection.
Does it say that in the manual? I did not read that in my manual when I installed it. I don't turn off the display, because it is mounted in the same compartment. Maybe some day I will add a second display inside. For now I like it in the same compartment so I can see it when I first plug into the CG power.

Chuck
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:43 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by chboone View Post
Does it say that in the manual? I did not read that in my manual when I installed it. Chuck
It's my understanding that when the switch on the remote is turned to OFF then unit just passes power through and there is no protection.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:48 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
It's my understanding that when the switch on the remote is turned to OFF then unit just passes power through and there is no protection.
I'll check with Progressive on Monday.
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 01:00 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
mccsix's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pensacola Fl
Posts: 667
I wired mine before the transfer s/w and did not go for the remote. I don't feel the remote can do any more for me than my inexpensive plug-in volt meter plugged into a dining room socket. It keeps pretty good tabs on inside coach voltage.
__________________
mccsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 02:47 PM   #27
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,605
I believe it also turns off the protection and by-passes the unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chboone View Post
My remote display has a switch to turn it off.

Chuck
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 03:29 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 View Post
I believe it also turns off the protection and by-passes the unit.
Yep, says that right in the manual. switch the monitor off and it cuts off the protetion circuit.
__________________

__________________
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 Truck Camper; MANY mods, to many to list
2007 Chevy 2500 Duramax Std Bed Ext Cab
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.