Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2013, 03:32 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Yep, says that right in the manual. switch the monitor off and it cuts off the protetion circuit.
Except for the surge protection which operates in the on or of position.
__________________

__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-10-2013, 03:32 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 326
thanks for all the replies- one more question.
will the PI EMSLCHW50 eliminate my need for the surge protectors in the coach for the TV's and laptops?

thanks!

Steve
__________________

__________________
SMRDNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:05 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
It's my understanding that when the switch on the remote is turned to OFF then unit just passes power through and there is no protection.
I believe we are talking about two different things. On Progressives web site it talks about the remote display and a remote panel the same as in the manual. I have sent an email to Progressive, should have an answer tomorrow.
EMS-RDS
Attached Files
File Type: pdf HW50C.pdf (388.6 KB, 27 views)
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 05:05 PM   #32
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMRDNR View Post
thanks for all the replies- one more question.
will the PI EMSLCHW50 eliminate my need for the surge protectors in the coach for the TV's and laptops?

thanks!

Steve
I would say YES, but a call to Progressive Industries would give you a more technical answer.

I do know that you are NOT suppose to daisy-chain the strip surge protectors.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:31 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,940
Preferred location of the remote display probably varies--I like to see "what is what" when I first plug-in to the pedistal, so I have it mounted inside the utilities bay. If the power kicks off sometime after the initial plug-in, its usually low voltage in the park. My "el-cheapo" wall plug 120v meter from CW usually lets me know early on if low voltage is going to be a problem. Guess you can solve the issue of location with two remotes but Progressive Ind is pretty proud [$$$$] of this option.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 02:13 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 1,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
I do know that you are NOT suppose to daisy-chain the strip surge protectors.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Why is that?
__________________
LadyFitz... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 10:47 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 1,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
...I do know that you are NOT suppose to daisy-chain the strip surge protectors.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Seriously, I would like to know why. Is it because it affects the surge protection or is it just an overload danger for the first strip in the chain from too many outlets being added?
__________________
LadyFitz... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:41 PM   #36
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyFitz... View Post

Seriously, I would like to know why. Is it because it affects the surge protection or is it just an overload danger for the first strip in the chain from too many outlets being added?
Can I daisy chain surge protectors?

No. Surge protectors must be plugged directly into a grounded outlet to work properly. (Underwriters Laboratories prohibits daisy chaining) Never plug a surge protector into a plug strip or plug adapter.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:00 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 1,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
Can I daisy chain surge protectors?

No. Surge protectors must be plugged directly into a grounded outlet to work properly. (Underwriters Laboratories prohibits daisy chaining) Never plug a surge protector into a plug strip or plug adapter.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Thanks for the response. That gave me enough info to find this :http://www.compliance.gov/forms-pubs...aisychains.pdf and other similar references. I've seen this issue come up before and the consensus was circuit overloading was the issue with daisy chaining, not inhibited surge protection, but I wanted to verify it. As long as there is a ground connection, the wiring is heavy enough, and the load doesn't exceed the circuit capacity, daisy chaining will not be dangerous and will not inhibit surge protection. However, it will be illegal.

In the case of the Progressive Industries surge protector, that is wired in ahead of the RVs main panel so the daisy chaining prohibition wouldn't apply here as long as multiple strips are not being daisy chained.
__________________
LadyFitz... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:32 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
ShapeShifter's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
I think if you took a survey looking for how often generators were to fail with errant power and actually damaged devices inside the RV, you would find that it was very minimal versus encountering RV Parks and campgrounds with errant power problems.
I don't think there is any question that campground power issues are much more common. After all, that's the prime purpose for this protection product and the main reason most of us installed one.

But you make it sound like it's an either/or proposition. It isn't. The question is whether you want protection ONLY from campground issues, or if you want protection from campground AND generator issues. Why not go for both? The common reason given is to protect the transfer switch, but transfer switches are relatively inexpensive, and are not easily damaged by the sort of wiring/power issues that the EMS protects.

Another reason for putting it AFTER the transfer switch: so you can use the display to monitor the power draw from the generator. (I like to know what's going on.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccsix View Post
I don't feel the remote can do any more for me than my inexpensive plug-in volt meter plugged into a dining room socket.
When your plug-in volt meter reads zero, it won't tell you anything that you don't already know - there's no power. But an inside EMS display can tell you WHY you don't have power, and whether you can do anything about it. For example, in the middle of the night, the power went out. I looked at the inside display, and saw that the EMS cut the power because the voltage was out of range. That told me there isn't anything I can do about it right now (like resetting breakers) so I went back to bed, comfortable in the knowledge I was being protected. But if I didn't have the display, I would've had to get dressed and gone out in the rain before I realized there was nothing I could do at the time. This has actually happened to me a few times, for both high and low voltage.

Besides voltage and status, the current draw readout on the display is very helpful at times.
__________________
Adam and Sue, and a pack of little furballs
2007 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PDQ Limited Edition - Cummins ISL 400
2013 Ford F-150 FX4 toad - USGear Unified Tow Brake, Roadmaster Blackhawk II Tow bar, Blue Ox baseplate
Home base near Buffalo NY, often on the road to a dog show
ShapeShifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 11:00 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 3,394
I wish I had more information on the EMS of my coach. The panel displays the service and I have a page that displays the L1, L2, Neutral and Ground conditions but I don't know if the system is built to not connect the service to the coach if it does not qualify.

Does the Progressive disconnect if a problem occurs or prevent connection if a problem is detected? Maybe both?
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson, 2011 Itasca Meridian 40U, Freightliner XCL, Cummins ISL 380HP/DEF, Allison 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox tow equip., TST 507 TPMS, TruCenter steering control, Hughes auto transformer.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 11:14 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerichorick View Post
I wish I had more information on the EMS of my coach. The panel displays the service and I have a page that displays the L1, L2, Neutral and Ground conditions but I don't know if the system is built to not connect the service to the coach if it does not qualify. Does the Progressive disconnect if a problem occurs or prevent connection if a problem is detected? Maybe both?
Winnebago should be able to tell you what the specs of your EMS are. The Progressive checks the condition of the incoming power before allowing power into the coach. Once power is established then it monitors the power for faults and will disconnect if a fault is detected. It will continue to monitor the power and if the fault is corrected it will then allow power in again. Seamless in operation.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 06:55 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 3,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
Winnebago should be able to tell you what the specs of your EMS are. The Progressive checks the condition of the incoming power before allowing power into the coach. Once power is established then it monitors the power for faults and will disconnect if a fault is detected. It will continue to monitor the power and if the fault is corrected it will then allow power in again. Seamless in operation.
Of course! I should have thought of that. They are usually great about answering questions like this. I might call later today if I get a chance. I'll post what I find out.

Thanks,
Rick
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson, 2011 Itasca Meridian 40U, Freightliner XCL, Cummins ISL 380HP/DEF, Allison 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox tow equip., TST 507 TPMS, TruCenter steering control, Hughes auto transformer.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 11:06 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by chboone View Post
I believe we are talking about two different things. On Progressives web site it talks about the remote display and a remote panel the same as in the manual. I have sent an email to Progressive, should have an answer tomorrow.
EMS-RDS
I finally got an answer from Progressive about my question if the remote display and the remote panel are the same thing. Yes they are, the manual and the web site have a type-o where it says remote panel. And yes as posted by others when remote display is switched off all safety features of the EMS are bypassed, except for the surge protection.

Chuck
__________________

__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.