Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2014, 08:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dyersville Iowa
Posts: 46
Progressive surge voltage protection.

Has anyone installed a progressive surge voltage protector up at the main panel instead of the basement where the cord is. It would be after the transfer switch so it would monitor the generator or shore power.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

__________________
Ronrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-02-2014, 08:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
I've seen a few posts on the subject of placement and I'd have to check my instructions to see if that set up was included.
Personally I felt, I use the gen set so little it wasn't a concern, and didn't want the idle down to trigger the low voltage, shut down & delay.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,443
I agree with not having the genny subject to the surge protector. If the genny is in good shap you don't have to woory much about surges or wiring faults. Like Skip said when the genny slows down on a shut down the low voltage will result in the protector shutting down. Then you have to wait for it to reset.
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:00 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
My 2002 Monaco Windsor PBT does not have any more room where the main power panel and Intellitec EMS sub-panel are located to mount the Progressive Industries EMS HW-50C System.

If there were then it would be a great location to install it.

If you have the room to do it, go for it!

I could not access my transfer switch unless I pull out my inverter/charger to get to it as it sits directly behind the inverter in a very small compartment. If the transfer switch had been in a location with easy access I would most likely have installed my PI HW-50C after the transfer switch versus before as it is now.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 10:03 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 292
That is exactly what I did. Mounted the Progressive box right behind the breaker box. Obviously I had room behind the breaker box but it was tight.
I feel better having the generator voltage/frequency monitored also but this is just me.
__________________
PandK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 10:23 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 250
I mounted my Progressive after the transfer switch. In my coach I was able to do that in the basement right next to where the transfer switch is located. You can then mount the remote display inside next to your other displays. Many people say you don't need protection from your generator, but I have seen several posts where generators have had problems that caused damage similar to bad cg power. This means your transfer switch is not protected, but that is a fairly inexpensive item compared to the items which are protected.
__________________
2011 Monaco Knight 36', MaxForce 10, 350HP, 1150 lbs. Torque.
2008 Saturn Vue Toad, SMI Duo Brake, Roadmaster Sterling Tow Bar
San Antonio, TX Home Port
wigginsjsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 07:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
flynnwalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 450
Ronrad, et al
We had our Progressive installed before the transfer switch because that's where Progressive says it should be placed. But I am in agreement with those who wish to protect their coach from generator problems, which while perhaps relatively rare, when they do happen can be more devastating by far than having to replace a transfer switch. I am on the fence about moving the Progressive from where it currently sits before the switch. But whatever the placement, get a Progressive, its saved my bacon 3 times in four years.
__________________
Frank W. '09 Cayman 38 SBD '08 CRV
Lake City, Florida
flynnwalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:08 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Frank,

Due to where my transfer switch is located the only way I could protect the coach from errant generator power is to purchase a second unit and install in near the output of the generator.

I may or may not do that in the future For now I have more pressing projects to finish up.

However, for another $200 I could install the basic unit, EMS-LCHW50, to the generator power line going to the transfer switch.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 10:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dyersville Iowa
Posts: 46
Mounted it today right next to the panel. Works great with the shore line and the genset.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Ronrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 08:42 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
flynnwalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 450
Richard, Ronrad
That's what I am thinking, but Progressive wants $349 for the EMS-LCHW50. $200 might move it up my to-do list a bit, where?
Ronrad--how are you protecting both?
__________________
Frank W. '09 Cayman 38 SBD '08 CRV
Lake City, Florida
flynnwalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 09:12 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynnwalter View Post
Richard, Ronrad
That's what I am thinking, but Progressive wants $349 for the EMS-LCHW50. $200 might move it up my to-do list a bit, where?
Ronrad--how are you protecting both?

Camping World has it for $250.

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...d-50-amp/56417

Here is the full Magilla for under $300:

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...otection/56420


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 09:18 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynnwalter View Post

Richard,
That's what I am thinking, but Progressive wants $349 for the EMS-LCHW50. $200 might move it up my to-do list a bit, where?
Frank,

Well $200 was just a guess. How about $239 with free shipping and no tax?

Hardwired 50A Surge Protector with Voltage Protection and Integrated Display

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 05:09 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dyersville Iowa
Posts: 46
I wired it after the transfer switch up at my fuse box. When the generator is running it monitors that and when hooked to A pedestal it monitors that. The only thing not protected is the transfer switch. I did'nt think about that when I wired it.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Ronrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 06:12 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
flynnwalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 450
Richard, Ronrad, Steve
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Frank W. '09 Cayman 38 SBD '08 CRV
Lake City, Florida
flynnwalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Progressive Surge Protector/Hughes Autoformer Installation jigsup Newmar Owner's Forum 17 09-27-2014 09:44 PM
Surge protection bruc RV Systems & Appliances 8 08-03-2014 06:36 PM
Surge Protection BRS50 Excel Owner's Forum 19 06-14-2014 01:43 PM
Autoformer / Surge Protection Order s1njin Class C Motorhome Discussions 3 05-02-2014 03:26 PM
Surge guard protection?? meffrig Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 02-04-2014 07:50 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.