Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-31-2014, 07:58 PM   #1

Propane Gas Smell

I am relatively new to the RV'ing world, purchasing my 2010 Thor Hurricane 33T this past August. I live in the Pensacola, Florida area, and like the rest of the country, we have had some exceptionally cold weather. I winterized the unit in December, with the pink anti-freeze solution. This past Monday, I turned on the furnace, because it was supposed to go down to 15 degrees F that night. I was somewhat afraid to do this because I only had 1/3 a tank of propane left, but elected to do so. I went to shut off the furnace today, and noticed a strong propane gas smell when I entered the unit. I turned off the furnace, and then checked the propane level, which was shown as empty. There was not a gas leak before the freeze. Can cold weather do this? Is it a possibility that the pilot light stopped working because the propane ran out, and then there was some residual that came into the coach after the pilot was no longer functioning? Is there a pilot on this type of furnace? My owners manual makes no mention of a pilot, and I do not have a manual for the furnace. I had the propane tank refilled today, but shut off the gas valve until I can have this checked out. Any ideas? Thanks for reading.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!