Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2016, 11:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 342
Puzzling electrical issue

The last few times I have connected to shore power with a 50 amp service I only show 30 amps on the monitor panel. A few hours later it shows 50 amps. This has happened in 3 RV parks in the US and now one in BC.

I have checked all breakers and everything normal. Any thoughts????
__________________

__________________
2007 Itasca Horizon 40FD, 2015 Harley Davidson FLHTKL, 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
drwwicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-22-2016, 05:16 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
You may have a bad solder joint on the control panel that sees the 240 volt service.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 07:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 264
I had this problem because I turned of an unused breaker. To me, why power up a circuit if it isn't being used? In my case, it was because they wired the energy management panel to the output of that breaker so the system got confused. Sometimes there was enough voltage coupled around the breaker that it thought there was 240 volts, other times only 120 volts. That's how the system decides you have 50 Amp service. It must provide 240 volts. Make sure all your breakers are on.
__________________
Jim (NQ5L) & Chris
2007 Monaco Knight 40 PDQ
2011 Jeep Liberty
jrusselltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 08:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
X2 that jrusselltx posted

I have the Intellitec EMS system. The display relies on a breaker being turned on, in my case it is the Washer/Dryer breaker.

If you have a similar system the circuit board may be going bad. I had my circuit board fail and the system defaulted to 30 amp, meaning I could use any of the appliances wired through the EMS board (2 AC's, Electric hot water heater, and washer dryer). I bypassed the board until I could replace, just had to limit what we used.

If you can't fix the problem you may try and call M&M Electronics. They support the Intellitec system, 419-965-2662. I contacted them with my problem and they walked me through troubleshooting & reset procedure ultimately determining the board was bad. I bought an upgrade board from them as mine was discontinued.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 09:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,272
I think it is a simple case of bad campground power. Get yourself a multimeter and learn how to check voltages on standard 10 amp, 30 amp, and 50 amp plugs. I think in all those cases, you will find a leg without voltage. Your system will sense that as a 30 amp circuit.
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 10:12 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Quote:
I think it is a simple case of bad campground power.
Unlikely to have the same "bad power" in three different parks. It could be a bad shore power cord, though. That would show up at every park visited. And an intermittent connection on the shore plug might start working again after a bit.

No power on one leg would usually mean that half the power inside the coach was out, but sometimes that goes unnoticed.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 11:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 847
In addition to a bad connection, burned or corroded contacts on the shore side of the transfer switch could cause that also.
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
FreedomDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: fulltiming
Posts: 294
My first thought is a bad plug or transfer switch connection. If it happens again, give the transfer switch box a couple of good raps with the handle of a big screw driver. If the monitor immediately reads "50 amp" you will know it is the transfer switch. If the rap on the box does not fix it, jiggle the plug at the shore power post and see if that remedies the situation. If it does, you probably need a new plug.
__________________
Bob & Joan Alexander, 2010 Tiffin Phaeton 36 QSH, 2013 Jeep Wrangler (toad)
Lobo & Juniper (woof, woof)
FreedomDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 10:08 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreedomDream View Post
My first thought is a bad plug or transfer switch connection. If it happens again, give the transfer switch box a couple of good raps with the handle of a big screw driver. If the monitor immediately reads "50 amp" you will know it is the transfer switch. If the rap on the box does not fix it, jiggle the plug at the shore power post and see if that remedies the situation. If it does, you probably need a new plug.
Last fall I had a RV service center in Panama City Beach FL perform some service including repairing the inverter/charger. Unfortunately they did sloppy and incomplete work. I suspect at this point the wiring connections coming out of the shore power cable drum may be loose where it connects to the inverter charger. The plug on the shore power looks good and secure. So far I haven't had the 50 amp jump yet but will try first wiggling the shore power plug, then tapping the inverter and wiggling around the wires going into it. Hopefully that will do something. At any rate, we are moving again today and after we arrive at the new destination, before connecting, I'll pull the cover of the inverter and physically check the connections. I'll keep all posted on results.

Thanks all for the suggestions.

For those interested, check the forum for SE US and see my response to someone looking at service around the Panama City Beach FL region. Sorry place to deal with.
__________________
2007 Itasca Horizon 40FD, 2015 Harley Davidson FLHTKL, 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
drwwicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 11:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
FreedomDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: fulltiming
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwwicks View Post
Last fall I had a RV service center in Panama City Beach FL perform some service including repairing the inverter/charger. Unfortunately they did sloppy and incomplete work. I suspect at this point the wiring connections coming out of the shore power cable drum may be loose where it connects to the inverter charger. The plug on the shore power looks good and secure. So far I haven't had the 50 amp jump yet but will try first wiggling the shore power plug, then tapping the inverter and wiggling around the wires going into it. Hopefully that will do something. At any rate, we are moving again today and after we arrive at the new destination, before connecting, I'll pull the cover of the inverter and physically check the connections. I'll keep all posted on results.

Thanks all for the suggestions.

For those interested, check the forum for SE US and see my response to someone looking at service around the Panama City Beach FL region. Sorry place to deal with.
No, not the inverter, the automatic transfer switch box. The shore power moves from the long black power cord to a surge guard (if you have one) to the automatic transfer switch to the Inverter/charger/converter.
__________________
Bob & Joan Alexander, 2010 Tiffin Phaeton 36 QSH, 2013 Jeep Wrangler (toad)
Lobo & Juniper (woof, woof)
FreedomDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 10:00 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 342
UPDATE; It may be a while before I can trouble shoot further. It's unlikely we will have 50 amps for a while on the way to AK. The one park I thought was 50 amp was only 30 even though the plug was 50 style. The next night was 50 and that's what I had inside. We'l see how things develop.
__________________

__________________
2007 Itasca Horizon 40FD, 2015 Harley Davidson FLHTKL, 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
drwwicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Puzzling DirecTV issue Doctor Thump Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 09-02-2013 11:54 AM
Puzzling electrical Problem stearn Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 09-29-2011 02:28 PM
A Puzzling Question ???? DriVer Hobbies, Passions & Pastimes 6 07-22-2011 09:04 PM
Southwind 36D Issue after issue after issue.... fixn2gocamp Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 10-21-2009 08:05 PM
Puzzling Basement A/C problem Snowwing Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 08-07-2009 09:37 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.