Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
logansrun's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: somewhere, BC
Posts: 117
Pyrometer & Boost gauge installation....

Have an 8.3 Cummins & want to install subject guages before I start some mods. Question is: the pyro comes with 10 ft. thermocouple lead. Can I add 40 ft. of extension wire, or do I need to buy a probe with a 50 ft. TC lead?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
logansrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-07-2012, 04:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,423
Good question, if the Banks kit hadn't come with both gauges as part of the kit I'd be wondering too.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ardbark's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Logan, Ut
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by logansrun View Post
Have an 8.3 Cummins & want to install subject guages before I start some mods. Question is: the pyro comes with 10 ft. thermocouple lead. Can I add 40 ft. of extension wire, or do I need to buy a probe with a 50 ft. TC lead?
Thanks
Pyrometers are factory calibrated to the lead. You can't modify the length without runing the calibration. If you need 50' then buy 50' and remember to add enough for routing up through the dash, etc. If you have excess, coil it up under the dash somewhere.
__________________
Its not the destination, its the journey
2003 FW Disco 39L chased by 2300 lbs of raging GEO Tracker
ardbark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
Isspro or whoever it was that sold me my EGT did say the gauge is calibrated but you need to use the 50 foot wire they sell in order to maintain the accuracy of the gauge. I do remember reading somewhere that using telephone wire would work and not greatly affect the accuracy. Personally, I prefer knowing the gauge is accurate.
Safe Travels
Bob
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,090
I installed a Banks pyro last year. They have an optional 40' cable for RV's.

Craig
__________________
2005 Fleetwood Providence 39J
CAT C7 350, MP-8 Programmer

My wife does all the driving - I just hold the wheel...
Gadget Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jd956jd956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Conroe, Texas
Posts: 661
My Banks pyro, purchased a little less than a year ago, came 65' cable and was intended for RV use... You can check their website for the model number, sorry I do not know it...
__________________
jd956jd956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 928
get a Silver Leaf System analog gauges are just an illusion of accuracy
__________________
pumper9x9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 06:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
hawgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Texas
Posts: 2,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by pumper9x9 View Post
get a Silver Leaf System analog gauges are just an illusion of accuracy

You may be right, but I must be an analog kinda guy. I have a digital pyro on my MH. I preferred the analog pyro on my Duramax for a quick glance - seems more intuitive to me.
__________________
hawgguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 07:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by pumper9x9 View Post
get a Silver Leaf System analog gauges are just an illusion of accuracy
If he has an ISC8.3 he can use Silver Leaf, on the other hand if he has a C8.3 he will have to install the Pyro himself.
__________________
st687, 97 Foretravel U270
08 Saturn Vue
University of Parris Island class of 66
st687 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 05:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
logansrun's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: somewhere, BC
Posts: 117
Just completed the installation of a 3K spring kit in the fuel system along with a boost & pyro gauge. Used #14 wire as extension lead, all works fine in CG.....leaving on Friday 300 miles away...should b a good test....will keep u posted!!!!!
__________________
logansrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 05:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by pumper9x9 View Post
get a Silver Leaf System analog gauges are just an illusion of accuracy
I have a VMSpc, the boost gauge only goes to 25psi even though the Banks gauge shows 34-35 psi. I contacted Silverleaf about it and they said it probably was the boost sensor not being designed to show more than 24-25 psi in the stock Cummins configuration.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newmar QUICK TIPS & EASY MODS # 3 -- PLUS OLD COACH's "007" Newmar Owner's Forum 22 03-14-2017 01:38 PM
50 amp power cord Clifftall iRV2.com General Discussion 56 03-12-2012 09:07 AM
Bob & Sue from Florida Rbocwkbs New Member Check-In 12 03-08-2012 07:10 PM
Ray & Tina, Missouri rayz379 New Member Check-In 9 03-07-2012 01:12 PM
New RVers-Ron & Cathy palebiker New Member Check-In 12 03-07-2012 01:07 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.