Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2014, 07:01 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
last question before I have to change my user name out of embarrassment...but there's a whole new crew of newbies getting ready for winter, so:

If I can turn the heat strip for the roof Air ON with the thermostat, what do I do in order to turn the LP-powered floor heat ON?

Does the salon's thermostat decide what to use in order to provide proper heat?
If you have electric heat, either strip or heat pump, your thermostat should have two heat settings. One setting should specify ElecHeat. Mine shows Gas heat for the furnace and elec heat for the heat pumps.
__________________

__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport and/or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-01-2014, 07:10 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
sknight's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
last question before I have to change my user name out of embarrassment...but there's a whole new crew of newbies getting ready for winter, so:

If I can turn the heat strip for the roof Air ON with the thermostat, what do I do in order to turn the LP-powered floor heat ON?

Does the salon's thermostat decide what to use in order to provide proper heat?
I don't have an answer to your question, but don't be embarrassed. Anyone, I mean anyone, that tries to tell you they haven't been there, somehow, some way, is flat lying.
__________________

__________________
2001 HO Cummins powered Dodge 2500
2014 Sierra 346RETS
Nights camped in 2014-28
sknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 07:36 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
djenkins452's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
last question before I have to change my user name out of embarrassment...but there's a whole new crew of newbies getting ready for winter, so:

If I can turn the heat strip for the roof Air ON with the thermostat, what do I do in order to turn the LP-powered floor heat ON?

Does the salon's thermostat decide what to use in order to provide proper heat?
Rick, please don't be embarrassed. I read all the way through this post just to learn the answers to your questions.
__________________
Danny & Heather, Soddy Daisy, TN
2006 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40'
2010 Jeep Wrangler Sport Unlimited Toad
djenkins452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:14 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by sknight View Post
I don't have an answer to your question, but don't be embarrassed. Anyone, I mean anyone, that tries to tell you they haven't been there, somehow, some way, is flat lying.

Thanks, guys. Looks like weather's going to get a bit cool this weekend, so I'll do some OJT and get smart about how things work. I'll report back about what I learned.

P.S. funny thing is that there's a heater in the wet bay and I was going to put it up for sale since we never need them down south. Heck, I just changed my mind for in case we travel and get into some weather that might freeze things. I'm slowly learning that RVs are a LOT like boats; you like to be over-prepared, just in case...
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:23 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,477
Our thermostat says Fan only, cool, heat pump, furnace.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:54 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,337
With the year and quality of your coach I would bet you have heat pumps in both A/C units. You most likely have a two zone thermostat you should find heat pump on each zone. On heat pump on the front if the temp go's below heat pump capability the system should switch to the propane furnace. You most likely do not have the system manuals but You may call the company or the brand of heat source and get the manuals or go to your coach type below and ask someone with alike coach for the manuals.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 08:42 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 124
I have a 12ga, 50ft extension cord that we use for supplemental heat when in colder weather. I plug it into the 20amp on the power pole and pass it thru and around the bedroom slide and into the motorhome. Now I have a dedicated 20 amps for a ceramic cube heater that keeps the back of the coach warm. The front is kept warm with the fireplace and another ceramic cube heater. This arrangement is good for down into the twenties at night. We don't camp anywhere it would get colder than that, just personal choice.
__________________
Chuck n Terri
2017 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB
2016 Chevy 3500 Duramax
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:51 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
I try to park on 50 amps and use as much electric heat as possible.. ONE THING I have found, Motor home outlets and wiring are officially rated for 15 amps. The heaters are 12 amps, SO in theory its safe.. however the nose told me that wires were getting hotter than they should.

So I put in some dedicated 20 amp outlets, each one is fed with 12 ga wire, this is bent around screws not poked in a hole or punched down into a slot. But bent around a good and tight screw.

Each outlet has a circuit breaker all to itself, One is on 15 amp (All I had at the time) one 20 and one is shared with one Air Conditioner (Theory Do not need heat an A/C at same time) the Heavy Duty outlets are also a different color (Dark brown instead of off white) or simplex instead of duplex, to indicate that they are "Different"

No overheated wires when I use them.
Isn't most residential also 15A at the outlets? I think it is in most parts of the country. It's possible your heater is drawing more than it says or what you smell is dust that's collected on the elements and is burning off. In any case, having a higher amp outlet is always good IMO.
__________________
Tim, Tara and Canyon - 'TnT' (& C now...)
2015 Thor Outlaw 37LS w/FJ Cruiser Toad
Columbia 400, 1967 Corvette, KTM 350 EXC-f, TTR 125 LE, XR50 for toys
MonkeyClaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:22 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyClaw View Post
Isn't most residential also 15A at the outlets? I think it is in most parts of the country. It's possible your heater is drawing more than it says or what you smell is dust that's collected on the elements and is burning off. In any case, having a higher amp outlet is always good IMO.
I've owned 3 homes. All had 20 amp wall outlets and 15 amp light circuits.
__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 09:39 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by OLYLEN View Post
With the year and quality of your coach I would bet you have heat pumps in both A/C units. You most likely have a two zone thermostat you should find heat pump on each zone. On heat pump on the front if the temp go's below heat pump capability the system should switch to the propane furnace. You most likely do not have the system manuals but You may call the company or the brand of heat source and get the manuals or go to your coach type below and ask someone with alike coach for the manuals.

LEN
Thanks, Len. I couldn't wait for cool weather to try it, so went to the MH and flipped to HEAT, then pushed the thermostat sky-high. Floor air came on almost at once (within 20 seconds), so all seems to be fine.

I didn't feel the roof air kick on, but maybe that's because the thermostat being turned to 90 automatically turned the main heat ON.
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
winter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp receptacle breaker: 60 amp OK? draboo RV Systems & Appliances 52 10-02-2014 01:52 PM
50 Amp to 30 Amp Question johnnya RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-11-2014 02:34 PM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 05:38 PM
RV 30 and 50 amp service jastinjr RV Systems & Appliances 13 06-27-2014 05:31 PM
20 amp service question............ Fred420 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 09-19-2013 07:49 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.