Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2014, 01:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Question about 30-amp vs. 50-amp hookups in Winter

Our first cool-weather trip is a November trip to Asheville. The campground offers 30-amp or 50-amp service.

I ...assumed... that 50-amp was for both A/C units and nothing more, so what would I benefit from a cool-weather trip where heat will be used, if anything?

Stove and Refer are both gas, and refer is 110v as well. Heat is propane.
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-01-2014, 01:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N. Palm Springs CA (in winter)
Posts: 2,420
Save your propane. Use a portable electric heater.
__________________

__________________
Doggy Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 01:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sknight's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 908
The unit will be fine on 30A, only point of concern will be if you run the fireplace (If equipped) and the electric element in the water heater (Again, if equipped) at the same time. Easy move there, just turn the water heater element off.

Another potential concern would be if you were going to run electric heaters in different rooms. Some of those can reach 1500 watts or more. One, you'll be fine. Two might work but you'll be hitting the top end of your 30A especially with your fridge running, converter keeping things charged and other little things adding up.

But if you use the furnace you'll be more than fine.
__________________
2001 HO Cummins powered Dodge 2500
2014 Sierra 346RETS
Nights camped in 2014-28
sknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 02:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Ours doesn't have a fireplace, so that's off the grid. My plan would be to use SP for WH, Refer and lights, and LP for heat.

Wait!, do our rooftop A/C units have electric heat strips; making two sources of heat (floor and ceiling)? If some do and some don't, is there an easy way to tell?
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 03:44 PM   #5
Member
 
2dogsbarkin's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Where ever we are parked!
Posts: 79
We have been on 30A a lot of late one thing I would suggest it clean the plug well and check it often. I have melted 3 of them so far. No electric heaters. and watch what you run all the time. Electric coffee maker1000w, microwave/convection oven 1500w, refer1000w and water heater1200w plus all the small loads add up quick. 30a x 120v =3600w / 50a x 240v =12000w
__________________
40' tag 04 Allure 370 ISL & 04 Jeep Rubicon toad
2dogsbarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 03:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 361
If you have a 50 amp coach get the 50 amp. I never use my gas furnace unless it is going below freezing for any length of time. Electric comes with the site. I use electric heat. My coach takes 1 heater in temps down to 30 degrees.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 04:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 552
I always try to get 50 amp service. If you plug up to 30 amp you are powering your RV with only 30 amps. On 50 amp servie you have two 50 amp legs or a total of 100 amps.
__________________
Darwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 04:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,221
You do get 100 amp service on 50 amp plug, as only 30 amps on the other, more than 3 times the electricity. If you use electric heaters instead of the furnace, check to see how your wet bay is winterized. If you don't use the furnace, the holding tanks may get too cold.

If your Air Conditioners have heat strips, there would be a setting on the thermostat to turn them on. If you turn the thermostat to Heat and the rooftop A/C fans don't come on, you don't have heat strips.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 04:29 PM   #9
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,606
Your thermostat will have a heat setting if your ACs have heat strips or more commonly now, if they are heat pumps.

Mine were heat pumps and I used them until it got too cold for them to function.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 04:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,441
We have heat pumps, but I usually use small "cube" heaters as the heat pumps are a lot noisier.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 04:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
You do get 100 amp service on 50 amp plug, as only 30 amps on the other, more than 3 times the electricity. If you use electric heaters instead of the furnace, check to see how your wet bay is winterized. If you don't use the furnace, the holding tanks may get too cold.

If your Air Conditioners have heat strips, there would be a setting on the thermostat to turn them on. If you turn the thermostat to Heat and the rooftop A/C fans don't come on, you don't have heat strips.
Thanks, guys. Seems that the salon's A/C is also a heater (based on the thermostat).

Since the temp ought to get close to freezing that time of year, seems that a 50A site is just the smart thing to do. Don't need to be getting close to over-taxing a system that's pretty new to us.

Using the heat strip during the day will make the coach nice and comfortable without having to dip into the LP tank for heating, too.
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 05:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
We have heat pumps, but I usually use small "cube" heaters as the heat pumps are a lot noisier.
I never would have thought to add a box heater to the list, so thanks. We like it around 64 at night, so wouldn't need a whole lot of heating. Cube might be just fine!
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 06:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
I try to park on 50 amps and use as much electric heat as possible.. ONE THING I have found, Motor home outlets and wiring are officially rated for 15 amps. The heaters are 12 amps, SO in theory its safe.. however the nose told me that wires were getting hotter than they should.

So I put in some dedicated 20 amp outlets, each one is fed with 12 ga wire, this is bent around screws not poked in a hole or punched down into a slot. But bent around a good and tight screw.

Each outlet has a circuit breaker all to itself, One is on 15 amp (All I had at the time) one 20 and one is shared with one Air Conditioner (Theory Do not need heat an A/C at same time) the Heavy Duty outlets are also a different color (Dark brown instead of off white) or simplex instead of duplex, to indicate that they are "Different"

No overheated wires when I use them.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 06:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
last question before I have to change my user name out of embarrassment...but there's a whole new crew of newbies getting ready for winter, so:

If I can turn the heat strip for the roof Air ON with the thermostat, what do I do in order to turn the LP-powered floor heat ON?

Does the salon's thermostat decide what to use in order to provide proper heat?
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
winter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp receptacle breaker: 60 amp OK? draboo RV Systems & Appliances 52 10-02-2014 01:52 PM
50 Amp to 30 Amp Question johnnya RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-11-2014 02:34 PM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 05:38 PM
RV 30 and 50 amp service jastinjr RV Systems & Appliances 13 06-27-2014 05:31 PM
20 amp service question............ Fred420 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 09-19-2013 07:49 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.