Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2016, 06:09 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Dakota and everywhere!
Posts: 369
Question about Hughes Autoformer...

Will a 50amp Autoformer work in a 30amp plug (with an adaptor, of course)? I understand it won't come up to 50 amps... I just want it to stabilize the 30 amp. Will it work? At close to 600 bucks, I'd feel I was getting sufficient value if the 50 will handle both 50 and 30amp.

I sent Hughes an email asking this same question and I received an answer of it "should" work. I was hoping for a more definitive answer.

So... what does the voice of experience have to say?

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
2004 Damon Escaper LX400 4194
40' Diesel Pusher, Freightliner Chassis,
Cummins ISL 400hp
blang is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-09-2016, 06:19 AM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,286
The device works on voltage not amps, so it won't know the difference. If you try to draw more than 30 amps the pedestal breaker will cut off power, but that is what you expect to happen.
__________________

__________________
pasdad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 06:20 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Yes....when using a well constructed 30-50 amp adapter.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 06:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Dakota and everywhere!
Posts: 369
Wonderful. Thanks for the help. Now... if I can just figure out what to do about the over-voltage. lol

I'm in a place where I need to be long term (a retired trucking terminal) and leg 1 is, often, under-voltage (104) and leg 2 is over-voltage (yesterday, it hit 135 volts!). My Progressive Industries EMS turns off several times a day, sometimes. Right now, at 7:30 AM, both legs are reading about 121.

I'd sure like to find a box that will step up under-voltage and step down over-voltage. Any thoughts?
__________________
2004 Damon Escaper LX400 4194
40' Diesel Pusher, Freightliner Chassis,
Cummins ISL 400hp
blang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 07:02 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
The local power supply company needs to be notified of the disparity between the two 120 VAC loads.

I think there is a way to balance that out with their transformers.

Or possibly there is a neutral problem.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 12:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 352
Tweetys RV has the 50 amp model go $450.00 check them out
__________________

__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hughes Autoformer & Mexico Greyhound RV Systems & Appliances 3 01-05-2009 04:48 AM
New Hughes Autoformer? AKBrick RV Systems & Appliances 5 01-25-2008 07:12 PM
Hughes 50 AMP Autoformer Craig H MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 03-05-2007 07:40 AM
Hughes Autoformer, 30 or 50 Amp??? Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-07-2006 12:27 AM
Hughes Autoformer >>>RV YACKMO<<< Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 09-28-2005 05:13 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.