Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2011, 12:53 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Dacotah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 152
Salesman's switch

Since this switch effectively shuts off all DC power in the coach, wouldn't you want this working so you can shut off all 12 volt power so your house batteries would not drain if you left something turned on and left the coach in storrage? That is what we use our switch for in our 2001 Sportscoach. Right next to this switch is the one that shuts off all chassis DC power, and we shut that off also when in storrage. Any comments?? DACOTAH
__________________

__________________
Dacotah is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-15-2011, 05:41 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 2,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dacotah View Post
Since this switch effectively shuts off all DC power in the coach, wouldn't you want this working so you can shut off all 12 volt power so your house batteries would not drain if you left something turned on and left the coach in storrage? That is what we use our switch for in our 2001 Sportscoach. Right next to this switch is the one that shuts off all chassis DC power, and we shut that off also when in storrage. Any comments?? DACOTAH
That is a use for the switch if you store and do not have a shore power connection. Thing is, they usually do not disconnect all parasitic drains on either the house or chassis system. The best way is to use the battery disconnect switches in the battery compartment or disconnect the battery cable. We never store our coach and it sits here at home with 50 amp shore power so we never use that feature.

Bob
__________________

__________________
Bob, Pam, and Wheatens Buffy and Bo
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2007 Ford SportTrac
2006 Honda in standby
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 09:34 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Dacotah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 152
Thanks, Nodine, the Sportscoach does not have a manual shut off so I think I will install one for each circuit in the battery compartment for a backup. DACOTAH
__________________
Dacotah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 01:04 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Pogo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Florida Cooters Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DeLand, Fl
Posts: 282
I had the exact same problem in our 2004 Holiday Rambler. I replaced the solenoid in the basement compartment below the driver's seat.
(I still don't really understand what it's purpose is for being installed, but I didn't bypass it because I didn't know if I would regret it at some time in the future.)
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
Pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 06:31 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
rcote52738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pogo View Post
I had the exact same problem in our 2004 Holiday Rambler. I replaced the solenoid in the basement compartment below the driver's seat.
(I still don't really understand what it's purpose is for being installed, but I didn't bypass it because I didn't know if I would regret it at some time in the future.)
Thanks for the reply, I too replaced the solenoid in that same compartment and it is fixed. Prior to replacing it, I by-passed as was described on the forum and it worked fine.

Now, if the power ever goes out again in that manner, I will know the temporary by-pass fix. Don't know the purpose of the switch and don't ever use it. I just wanted to get it back to its original design.

Thanks,
Bob Cote, Sr.
__________________

__________________
rcote52738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 Monaco Kwikee Door Switch Problem DonBaja Monaco Owner's Forum 4 10-06-2011 09:43 AM
Battery Isolator Relay or Solenoid JPMaly Class A Motorhome Discussions 20 08-04-2011 07:06 PM
Headlight Switch Problem tom49 Monaco Owner's Forum 1 06-14-2010 01:41 PM
relay problem Ricky National RV Owner's Forum 8 03-21-2009 03:22 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.