Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2016, 09:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 3,679
Repairing dash air on late model Class A

I have a 2015 40' Diesel motor home that the dash air has quit working already. I can tell the compressor is not turning, but is turnable by hand so it's not frozen, and the 7.5 A fuse in the fuse box is good.
Has anyone had to have a late model AC worked on, and if so can you remember what part it took to fix it?
Freightliner has told me to take it in to the shop but this may not be possible before we leave on vacation. Guess we'll be using the gen and the roof airs.
__________________

__________________
wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-19-2016, 10:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JFXG's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Today? Mercer, PA
Posts: 3,615
Repairing dash air on late model Class A

My dash unit produces neither heat nor cold. I'll get around to fixing it one of these days, perhaps. But that's ok, as its heat is totally inadequate and its cooling is sub-par at best. When cooling or heat is required we run the Gen and the roof units. I have read that this is more efficient, at least for a/c, as the engine driven dash air compressor coupled with increased loading of the radiator cooling fan can sap as much as 40-50 hp from the main engine. Not confirmed.


John & Diane, fulltiming since '12
'02 DS, FL, Cat, '04 Element
NHSO RVM103
__________________

__________________
John & Diane, Fulltimers. RVM103 NHSO
On the road since June '12 with Lincoln, the guard cat.
2002 Dutch Star 40, Freightliner, Cat 3126, 2004 Element
JFXG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 10:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,491
Probably low on "freon". If so there is a pretty good leak or it wouldn't have quit so soon. It usually takes 5 or more years to leak down. Any Air con shop could easily check it with their gauge setup.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 12:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
JMHO: 7.5 amp fuse shouldn't be large enough to power the whole system.
I'll agree that low freon : or what ever they call it this week ; may be your issue , but that 7.5 amp may not be the only fuse.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 11:26 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
Agree - you seem to have a "freon" (actually R134a) leak, and the loss of pressure inhibits the compressor from engaging (it is designed that way, to save the compressor). Try recharging it with a kit available in any auto parts store/dept and see if the compressor starts up and cools again. A typical problem is simply a leaking o-ring in one of the connections, but it can be hard to find with out pro diagnostic tools.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 02:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bdpreece's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Woodburn Oregon USA
Posts: 2,596
Something to check since my coach may be different than yours but when mine quit I found a sensor located on the back sided of the firewall that has a probe that is inserted into the fins in the heater/AC core and opens the connection to keep the AC from freezing up. There are two wires attached to this sensor/relay and you can test it by just removing the wires and connecting them together with a piece of wire. If the AC then works you need to replace the sensor/relay. If I remember right I paid in the neighborhood of $20 for mine.
__________________
Brian, Loretta & Daisy (Golden Retriever)
2008 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40 PDQ , ISL 400
2014 Ford Explorer toad
bdpreece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 02:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Don and Dale's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
Agree - you seem to have a "freon" (actually R134a) leak, and the loss of pressure inhibits the compressor from engaging (it is designed that way, to save the compressor). Try recharging it with a kit available in any auto parts store/dept and see if the compressor starts up and cools again. A typical problem is simply a leaking o-ring in one of the connections, but it can be hard to find with out pro diagnostic tools.
X4 or is it X5?
__________________
"In the game of life, I have no need for tickets on the 50-yard line, I brought my shoes, I came to play." Unknown
Don and Dale (2015 Tiffin 32 SA with 5ST, CHF, Safe-T-Plus and EEZRV TPMS) RVM106
Don and Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 04:31 PM   #8
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,326
I added freon to my 2002 Windsor, but don't remember exactly how I did it!

The connection was behind the dash, so I could access it by running the generator out!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 06:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
Likely low on freon and it should not be being new.

Contact the manufacturer to see what they say.

If it wss out of service for warranty work before clock stopped.

Sometimes you may get some extension by begging a bit.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 06:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,246
Wally World has your answer:

How to recharge your car's air conditioner - Car care, How-To’s & Tips - Walmart.com
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Planocat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 106
Just had mine repaired yesterday. It had plenty of freon but the compressor would not engage. Checked all fuses and relays and they were good. Took it to the Pros and I was in and out in 1 1/2 hours. Turned out to be the Thermostat was stuck open and needed to be replaced. Must be the $20 part described above only it cost $32. Add the hour and a half labor and I was out the door for $152 total. Note the labor rate at $80 hour. I had taken it to the Spartan Chassis place and was quoted labor on a motorhome at $145 hr. Decided to pass on that.

TexasTruckAC.com is located in Dallas suburb of Balch Springs and the best I have found for automotive ac in 40+ years of owning a motorhome. Easy in/out with lots of room for BIGGEST of rigs. They really know their stuff!

Planocat
__________________

__________________
2004 Dutch Star 3809
Spartan Chassis
370 Cummins 6c8.3
Planocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
class a, dash, dash air, repair



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baseplate Installation on late model Tahoe? CaptPat Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 11-17-2010 10:09 AM
Late Model Wrangler/Sahara Towing BillArf Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 219 05-25-2008 05:20 AM
Rear shock removal on late model Winn. wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 16 12-07-2005 11:13 AM
late model popups pslam Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 11 08-10-2005 05:07 AM
Installing a late model swaybar on a 2002 W-22 chassis. quesidog MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 06-23-2005 12:20 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.