Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2011, 05:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
mikekenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: saint johns michigan
Posts: 5
replacing back up camera on 94 bounder

Have to replace my backup camera and monitor, does anyone have ideas of how the factory wired this system? I have a 38 foot 94 fleetwood bounder x model and no information on this !!!
__________________

__________________
mikekenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-15-2011, 08:43 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
ACOMA1889's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikekenny
Have to replace my backup camera and monitor, does anyone have ideas of how the factory wired this system? I have a 38 foot 94 fleetwood bounder x model and no information on this !!!
I have the same problem with my motorhome bad picture
__________________

__________________
ACOMA1889 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 09:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikekenny View Post
Have to replace my backup camera and monitor, does anyone have ideas of how the factory wired this system? I have a 38 foot 94 fleetwood bounder x model and no information on this !!!
Not sure about the wiring on that model. Have you considered running a new camera cable under the chassis? That way everything will be new and should work great. Most camera/monitors come with the cable. All you will need to do is find a 12 volt lead and ground for the monitor. The camera gets it's power from the cable.
This is the camera set up I installed, got it from ebay
There are 3 different camera cable lengths available. 32', 49' or 65'
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 07:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tncruiser's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: kingston tn.
Posts: 973
how about a new wireless setup
brianj
__________________
just liven life in east tn or where ever our
2011 georgetown ,2012 explorer and 02 tbird take us
tncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 08:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
The wiring for the b/u camera runs at the roofline. The cover that contains the cable is in the top, side of the ceiling. it is held in place with screws about every two feet. I doubt that you have a cable problem. Most likely you have moisture in the camera. to check this, get on a ladder and look in the lens. If you see moisture, that is most likely your problem. next, would tbe the moniter. your best bet would be to borrow a friends moniter and hook it up to yours. If it works,replace the monitor. Both the camera and moniter should still be avialable. Try online first. If no luck contact fleetwood. Of course, it will be much more expensive from fleetwood. I am assuming you have checked for 12 volts at the moniter. there are two fuses for the system. one is in the elec. panel the second is about two feet from the moniter. It is an inline fuse. Just follow the power cord back from moniter to find it. If you stay with the same mfr. and replace the camera or moniter you wont have to rewire.
__________________
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 08:40 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Call RVCAMS and tell them what you got and they will tell you how it is wired up and what you can replace it with and they have great prices on new systems. They are very helpful.
RVCams Backup Cameras and Rear View Systems: Backup Camera Systems (All)
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 11:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tncruiser View Post
how about a new wireless setup
brianj
I passed on the wireless setup. All I have spoke to say the camera picks up interference at times.
__________________
Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 03:57 PM   #8
Member
 
AB7OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mead, Wa
Posts: 49
On my old 94 34J they had ran the wire along the floor on the left side of the coach.
__________________
Richard & Roxanne
Mead,WA
2000 Airstream Land Yacht XL 390
AB7OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:55 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
ACOMA1889's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
thanks to all of you
__________________
ACOMA1889 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 03:13 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 79
Just did my 94 34J with a new camera and 7" monitor - from Overstock.com, and was a great buy - cheaper than anywhere else, plenty of cable, etc. The old cable runs through the top outside trim piece (rivited) and the side trim piece (rivited). I instead brought it inside of the rear wall cabinet, then down into the water tank compartment, through that, then underneath the coach to the front, and back up through the existing holes to the dash. EZ, but the coach felt a lot longer crawling on my back for all that distance! Let me know if I can be of any more help.

Kent
__________________

__________________
S2kskibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back up camera and monitor replacement Mk1322 Country Coach Owners Forum 5 09-01-2010 09:12 PM
Problem with back up camera Arkansas Newmar Owner's Forum 5 08-04-2010 07:41 AM
Replacing Window 94 Bounder Steve N Sal MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 06-20-2008 06:36 PM
Monitoring the back up camera through a PC Tom and Patty Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 07-30-2006 02:22 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.