Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2014, 09:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 33
Replacing stock 45 amp with 55 amp converter charger - Will it work?

Replacing stock 45 amp with 55 amp converter charger will it work. Probably put in 4trojans, with 400 w solar setup.
__________________

__________________
bproulx12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-09-2014, 10:17 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Sure. The only caveat is the wiring and fusing. Depending on what you have (you didn't give year/make/model or even RV type), it may have a charge controller that has a fuse or breaker to limit current. Probably not if the factory converter was only 45 amp, but did not want to ignore that possibility.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 10:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 33
It is a Winnebago 2003 Brave, could not find a fuse or breaker for it. It is a Parallax 7445
__________________
bproulx12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 12:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
The fuse and breaker are built in with the Parallex models..

Breaker marked CONV most likely fuse is the one on the right most likely

Your new converter, What make and model...

Reason I ask: You ask "Will it work" the only danger is a blown fuse, and if that happens you will find it fast enough.

But... The make and model determines how well it will work

For example dropping in a Progressive Dynamics 9200 series.. Works very very well with flooded wet cells.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 02:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 33
Looking to put in a PowerMax PM55
__________________
bproulx12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 05:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,838
I just installed a PowerMax55. I pulled the black wire out of the converter circuit breaker, taped it up and ran a piece of romex from the breaker to a receptacle, I installed near the new charger.

30' 2000 Gulfstream Yellowstone
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 07:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Hey Twinboat.....

That is exactly how I tell folks to do it
__________________
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 03:54 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 33
sorry, let me understand, You ran a wire to a power receptacle? trying to get the logic here
__________________
bproulx12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 06:03 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 33
Twinboat, some extra detail? could I do this with a 65 amp?
__________________
bproulx12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 07:28 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
I just bought a progressive dynamics 9280. They failed to mention that it has a 20 amp plug anywhere in the info. Make sure the circuit you have to power it has a breaker rated to Handel what you buy.
__________________
Dramatic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 08:50 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
KJINTF's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western Montana
Posts: 319
Short answer is YES
As others mentioned the fuse and wire size might very slim chance need to be upgraded
You need a short run of 6awg or larger wire

If you no longer want the old converter happy to pay shipping costs to get the Parallax here for spare parts
__________________
Please do not toss your defective Converters / Inverters / etc. in the trash
KJINTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 12:12 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,838
The breaker I used is a 15 amp @ 120 volt, so I can only use a charger that draws less then 15 amps AC. I don't know what a 65 amp charger draws, but if it is less then 15 amps, yes.

You also could use a 20 amp breaker and 12 gauge romex wire, if your panel can handle it.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 07:26 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
michealwhela's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 127
Blog Entries: 24
What is the advantage of going from 45 to 55 or 60?

I have a Paralax 7445 in my 2003 Adventurer. Is there an advantage of moving from a 45 amp to 55 or 60? What do I gain or loose? I am pretty much a converter/charger dummy with a converter that is old but still working.
__________________
michealwhela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 08:06 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
As a rule the charger should be able to provide 25 amps per battery in the system.
Other wise your charge time will get rather long.
__________________

__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp vs 30 amp? MPH National RV Owner's Forum 7 10-02-2014 06:13 PM
30 amp, 20 amp Y to 50 amp adaptor for running two AC units? charliej Gear and Product Discussions 9 07-13-2014 04:00 PM
RV 30 and 50 amp service jastinjr RV Systems & Appliances 13 06-27-2014 05:31 PM
Where Did the 15 -20 amp Outlet Go? Bigd9 iRV2.com General Discussion 7 04-06-2014 08:48 AM
Replacing 45 amp Charger/Converter to higher amp bproulx12 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 19 03-20-2014 10:26 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.