Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2014, 02:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 22
Residentual Refrig Power

I have a Monaco Knight 40' PLQ with a Norcold Refrig and just about complete with my conversion to F&P Refrig. How is everyone powering the new refrig???
__________________

__________________
kvhookj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2014, 02:27 PM   #2
RVM #74
 
PushedAround's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 2,853
Blog Entries: 7
I just plugged my F&P into the constant powered 120v receptacle behind the old Norcold. Works automatically on shore, generator or inverter power. My coach has a 2000 watt MSW Xantrax unit.
__________________

__________________
Larry & Cheryl Oscar, Louie, Ranger & Henry (our Springers)
PushedAround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 02:31 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
The F&P expects a pure sine power source, so I would not recommend using the old outlet if it is powered by a modified sine inverter. The Norcold icemaker ran fine on MS, but the F&P may suffer long term damage or just plain misbehave.

You can add a modest size pure sine inverter, using your existing battery bank, to power just the fridge, leaving your previous system intact if you wish.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 02:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 353
The Samsungs will work off a modified sine wave
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 03:00 PM   #5
RVM #74
 
PushedAround's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 2,853
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
The F&P expects a pure sine power source, so I would not recommend using the old outlet if it is powered by a modified sine inverter. The Norcold icemaker ran fine on MS, but the F&P may suffer long term damage or just plain misbehave.

You can add a modest size pure sine inverter, using your existing battery bank, to power just the fridge, leaving your previous system intact if you wish.
According to the engineers at F&P it will work just fine on an MSW inverter. I called and asked first.
__________________
Larry & Cheryl Oscar, Louie, Ranger & Henry (our Springers)
PushedAround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 03:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
vtwinwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 601
X2 for the F&P on MSW inverter.

I too called F&P and asked before doing it. They told me it was no problem. I've been running mine plugged into the inverter outlet for about a year and a half now. Granted, it runs off the inverter rarely as I'm normally connected to shore power or running the generator, but it has been on the inverter several hours at a time.
__________________
vtwinwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 04:24 PM   #7
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,312
"kvhookj".....I added the residential unit to my Diplomat. At the time I did mine, 18 months ago, everyone was just using the OEM inverter (Magnum) and the four coach batteries.

Being anal, I added Magnum's 600 watt msw inverter above the OEM inverter (I bolted it to the ceiling of the compartment, above the Magnum ). I powered just the refer off the new inverter. It worked great.

I also added two more batteries. My coach DID NOT have the slide out battery tray, so I welded up a shelf above the coach batteries and moved the starting batteries to the shelf. This gave me room to add two or four more coach batteries in the battery tray.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 04:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
"kvhookj".....I added the residential unit to my Diplomat. At the time I did mine, 18 months ago, everyone was just using the OEM inverter (Magnum) and the four coach batteries.

Being anal, I added Magnum's 600 watt msw inverter above the OEM inverter (I bolted it to the ceiling of the compartment, above the Magnum ). I powered just the refer off the new inverter. It worked great.

I also added two more batteries. My coach DID NOT have the slide out battery tray, so I welded up a shelf above the coach batteries and moved the starting batteries to the shelf. This gave me room to add two or four more coach batteries in the battery tray.
Don, did you mean Pure Sine Wave ?
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 05:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvhookj View Post
I have a Monaco Knight 40' PLQ with a Norcold Refrig and just about complete with my conversion to F&P Refrig. How is everyone powering the new refrig???
Obviously I have a different brand of RV but my Norcold 120 volt power was only through shore power or generator power. I added a circuit breaker to the inverter panel and used the same wiring from the panel to the refrigerator. Mine has two circuit panels one specifically for the inverter.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 05:28 PM   #10
RVM #74
 
PushedAround's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 2,853
Blog Entries: 7
If you have an ice maker, then typically you have 2 outlets. One is on shore/generator power for the electric element, and one is on inverter power for the ice maker. Otherwise no ice when boondocking.
__________________
Larry & Cheryl Oscar, Louie, Ranger & Henry (our Springers)
PushedAround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 06:57 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
Quote:
According to the engineers at F&P it will work just fine on an MSW inverter. I called and asked first.
I stand corrected! When last I checked, Samsung was the only fridge maker who would warranty operation on MSW. I guess F-P got on the bandwagon too. That's good news!
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:16 PM   #12
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,312
"Bruceisla"......No, it was their msw inverter. The 600 only comes msw. I used it because it had a pass thru for 110volt.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:46 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,928
I was trying to determine what size inverter we would need if we choose to get one solely dedicated to a residential fridge. Am I correct that a 600 is large enough?
__________________
Gene, Gayle, & Oliver
2006 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40 PDQ/2012 Honda CRV
G.G. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:53 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
600 watts is 5 amps at 120 VAC. Look at the fridge you are going to install and what the compressor needs to use at start-up and when running and cooling.

Most inverter's will have a surge value to take care of compressor surge.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Banks Power Ultimate RV Power System - any experience? Dusterella Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 04-11-2014 02:38 PM
2003.Discovery help no ignition power Alanboss Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 03-28-2014 07:05 AM
Issue with no power @ outlets :( ShineGinny Travel Trailer Discussion 23 01-19-2014 10:24 PM
No DC power to motorhome glow4004 Monaco Owner's Forum 12 12-02-2013 10:22 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.