Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2007, 06:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Augusta, SC (but forever a Buckeye!)
Posts: 46
So, here's the deal. My husband and I rented our house out during Master's week, and will be caddying at a golf course down the road. We have to be at work at 6:00 a.m., and will be caddying 36 holes a day, so we figure it would be easier just to park the RV in the caddie parking lot and live there for a week. However, our two dogs will be staying with us, and will stay in the camper during the day while we work.

I'm sure it'll get a little warm in early April in South Carolina, so we'll need to run one of the air conditioners for them so they don't cook. At this point, I do not believe we will have an electric hook-up, but we're working on it, as they owner said he's sure they've got 50 amp services around from when they built the golf course. If I can't get electricity, I'll need to run the generator, which is propane, for the majority of the day while the dogs are there, plus several hours in the evening to cook dinner, watch t.v., etc.

I don't have the specific specs. of the generator, and have no idea how big our propane tank is (but it looks big under the rig). In general, if we run the small a/c unit in the back of the RV, on low, about how much propane (again, in GENERAL), should I go through per day? We're probably talking about 10 hours of generator usage a day, unless we get a nice break and the weather stays in the 70s/lower 80s, and we won't need the a/c to run.

On another note, if I can't get 50 amp service, but have access to a regular outdoor house plug, can I go from 50 to 30 to 15 (is it 15) amp, and have enough amperage to run one air-conditioner on low? I know, I know, you need to know the model and how much amps it pulls, but the books are in the RV on the other side of town. I'm just fishing for ideas. I think it would be too much of a load, and would just blow the breakers where we plugged in, but I'm not sure. I just don't want to cook the dogs, nor do I want to go buy propane every day.
__________________

__________________
1995 Safari Sahara--35'--5.9L Cummins (fondly known as 'the dog house on wheels)

glfprncs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-13-2007, 06:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Augusta, SC (but forever a Buckeye!)
Posts: 46
So, here's the deal. My husband and I rented our house out during Master's week, and will be caddying at a golf course down the road. We have to be at work at 6:00 a.m., and will be caddying 36 holes a day, so we figure it would be easier just to park the RV in the caddie parking lot and live there for a week. However, our two dogs will be staying with us, and will stay in the camper during the day while we work.

I'm sure it'll get a little warm in early April in South Carolina, so we'll need to run one of the air conditioners for them so they don't cook. At this point, I do not believe we will have an electric hook-up, but we're working on it, as they owner said he's sure they've got 50 amp services around from when they built the golf course. If I can't get electricity, I'll need to run the generator, which is propane, for the majority of the day while the dogs are there, plus several hours in the evening to cook dinner, watch t.v., etc.

I don't have the specific specs. of the generator, and have no idea how big our propane tank is (but it looks big under the rig). In general, if we run the small a/c unit in the back of the RV, on low, about how much propane (again, in GENERAL), should I go through per day? We're probably talking about 10 hours of generator usage a day, unless we get a nice break and the weather stays in the 70s/lower 80s, and we won't need the a/c to run.

On another note, if I can't get 50 amp service, but have access to a regular outdoor house plug, can I go from 50 to 30 to 15 (is it 15) amp, and have enough amperage to run one air-conditioner on low? I know, I know, you need to know the model and how much amps it pulls, but the books are in the RV on the other side of town. I'm just fishing for ideas. I think it would be too much of a load, and would just blow the breakers where we plugged in, but I'm not sure. I just don't want to cook the dogs, nor do I want to go buy propane every day.
__________________

__________________
1995 Safari Sahara--35'--5.9L Cummins (fondly known as 'the dog house on wheels)

glfprncs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 12:23 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
A propane generator is very inefficient in comparrison to gas or diesel. THe BTU's of the fuels is the difference. Without know the perameter of many, many variables a guess is as close and as far away as you can get. I would suggest you install (if you don't already have one) a Extend-A-stay kit. This will allow you to connect a DOT LP bottle to the ASME LP tank on the coach and when it is empty you can disconnect it and run off the ASME tank while you are gone to get more LP. A 30 lp bottle should last a day, but the weather, where you are parked (sun or shade) and the insullation R factor will effect the heat load. Be sure to cover the windshield as it ias a big souce of heat. Good luck and enjoy work!
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 01:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,190
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by glfprncs:
On another note, if I can't get 50 amp service, but have access to a regular outdoor house plug, can I go from 50 to 30 to 15 (is it 15) amp, and have enough amperage to run one air-conditioner on low? I know, I know, you need to know the model and how much amps it pulls, but the books are in the RV on the other side of town. I'm just fishing for ideas. I think it would be too much of a load, and would just blow the breakers where we plugged in, but I'm not sure. I just don't want to cook the dogs, nor do I want to go buy propane every day. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

On the 15 AMP question the answer would be maybe.

If you don't have to use too long an extension cord and it was a heavy duty outdoor cord of high quality and you have the refridgerator set to run on propane only and the battery charger is not drawing very much and you don't have anything else turned on in the coach.

I have seen people melt down the connectors/adapters used with low quality extension cords and damage their AC units trying to do this.

You may find a local rental company that will set up a quiet gas or diesel generator for reasonable cost an alternative. Have not looked into this myself as I do not have a propane generator.

If you plan on doing this more often in the future then an Automatic Start Switch that would automatically turn the generator on and off when the AC was cycling may be a consideration also.
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 03:46 AM   #5
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
Maybe the local propane distributer would come to your site and fill the tank periodical? If not, you might rent an auxiliary 100# tank and have them connect it to the MH.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 06:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Renegades's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Waverly, Tennessee
Posts: 184
I have a propane generator on my coach, they burn about .5 to .8 gals/hr of propane. I carry about 30 gals of propane on the coach and that will last me about 1 1/2 days of running. I also keep the fridge on electric and the hot water heater. As mention getting a dealer out to refill is great and if your there for a long period of time, renting a 120 gal tank would keep you going for the week. I have been using mine for over 5 years and no problems, did one oil change. Currently have 600 plus hours and still runs great. I am looking for a diesel to replace it as I would like to boondock longer.
You just have to keep an eye on the amount of propane you have and as you get low either get it refilled or find power. If you run out of propane, you will also loose your fridge.

Using a 15/20 amp outlet to run an a/c unit, forget it. The starting current can and sometimes will trip a 15 or 20 amp breaker as you will not know what else is on that same circuit from were ever your parked. The best is a 30amp outlet or better yet a 50amp. I do carry a 50amp extension cord and also a 30amp cord. These do come in handy once in a while.

If you have a fantansic exhaust fan, and your only able to get a 15/20 amp outlet, crack your front windows about 3 or 4 inches and put the fan on high, this will pull cool air in and keep the warm air from building up. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Renegade (Jim) & Wrangler (Doreen)
& 4 attack cats, TJ, Shadow, Chessie, RJ
along with 2 who adopted us, Tom & puddy.
Renegades is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running propane heater while running bandmbrown MH-General Discussions & Problems 32 11-17-2014 07:41 PM
Fridge running on propane Home handyman Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 5 12-16-2008 05:24 PM
notIt is wise to check propane tanks before buying propane Bruce W iRV2.com General Discussion 4 06-27-2008 03:45 AM
running propane heater / ec 30 auto generator starter peter griffin Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 31 01-13-2007 03:52 AM
Using too much propane David Pressley 5th Wheel Discussion 5 01-09-2006 10:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.