Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-11-2015, 08:27 PM   #1

Question rv newbie

Hello,

I'm new to owning an rv and I got myself a "fixer upper" it's a 32 foot 1994 Fleetwood Coronado. I have several questions that may seem basic to everyone here but are not in my area of knowledge. So I'm sorry if I bounce around as I think of things that need to be done that I don't know how to do or where to start if it's something I know I can do once I figure out the source of the problem.

I will be living in it full time with my girlfriend and her toddler.

The motorhome came with a big orange folder of information from the manufacturer. But the only thing that I haven't seen is a chassis manual. The tires seem a little bit low to me so one thing that I need to know is what the PSI of my tires should be. Normally it would say the PSI rating on the sidewalls of the tire but all mine say are "max psi is 110 under load."

Right now my tires are at 70 PSI. Do I need to add more or is it fine there at 70?

The previous owner of the RV never plugged it into shore power and told me he's unsure if it's safe to do so or not.

Also, I have no idea what kind of transmission my motorhome has and the reverse works.... When it wants to. One day it will catch and go into reverse. Other days, it will feel like it is catching but when I give it gas it goes no where. I've read that is a very common problem for transmissions that are on a 454 engine. How much would the fix for that be at a shop? I know different shops have different rates but I'm looking for an average rate so I know what to expect when I take it somewhere to get fixed or do it myself.