Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2011, 03:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
62_inrightlane's Avatar
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida / Georgia / Michigan
Posts: 481
Satellite TV Questions

I have a 2011 Coachman Mirada and am considering adding Satellite TV. I usually stay in RV parks with cable, however we ocassionally stay in parks without cable. Bottom line I'm not interested in spending $1,500 to get a system installed. I am willing to do the set up on a dish & tripod.

What I would like to do is buy a Directv Slimline dish and tripod to set up when I don't have access to cable. I'm told that my motorhome is pre wired for satellite. Does that mean that I can run the coax from the dish into my cable connection? Then on the TV I want to use the satellite signal would the process be: remove the coax from the TV, re-install it on the receiver input and then attach the signal out on the receiver to the TV?

Can it be that simple?

Marc & Jan
Molly, Abby & Katie | The Cocker K-9 Kids!|Toad 2014 Cadillac SRX
2012 Berkshire 360FWS, Brake Buddy Vantage|Wineguard Travler SK-3005 |TST 507 TPMS
62_inrightlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-07-2011, 03:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
FC Ontario's Avatar
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 568
Thats how I do it with my Dish and my MH.
Very easy to hook up.

Vice President Operations
Family Campers & RVers
2003 Georgetown 346DS Ford F53
2008 Pontiac G 6 & Blue Ox Aventa LX
FC Ontario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:25 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 16,446
"Pre-wired for satellite" usually means there is RG6 coax running from the tv cabinet to the roof where a dome or dish would mount.

The park cable inlet may or may not accept a satellite wire. Typically that coax connector runs to a video switch for the roof top antenna. It could, however, be re-routed to a satellite receiver, but then it would do cable. You could add an A-B switch to change were the coax goes to, though.
Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2014 Buick LaCRosse
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 06:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 647
If you want HD, it is VERY DIFFICULT to aim a Direct dish. The regular TV is as easy as Dish TV but the Slimline 3 is a bear without the right meter ($$$$$$). I have to get Direct to set it up( $50); I just can't do it. We only carry the dish when we are going to FL for the winter.
Jeanie, Ed & Slade the GSD
Cape Cod, MA
2011 Jounrey 40L & Sierra Crew
Cousin Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 08:15 AM   #5
Senior Member
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376's Avatar
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 1,215
I use the cable intended for park cable for my dish, have for 5 years. Works perfect.
Rick and Julia
2005 Dolphin 5376, W24, Solid Body Paint, Koni FSD's
2007 Wrangler Unlimited....it follows us everywhere.
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 08:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
RVluvin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wittmann, AZ
Posts: 247
My 5er had 2 locations to connect cable, one was labeled DSS for satalite but only went to the TV in the living room. I had to run another RG6 line to the bed room. Keep in mind, you can't use a spliter on satalite like cable. I picked up a dish & tripod on craigs list $40, with the capability to connect to 2 TVs.
RVluvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 10:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,180
There are a few different meanings to "pre-wired for satellite"

My coach it meant I have a box with many buttons, one of which says SAT and it used to select the RF-OUT from the sat receiver, it also sends A/V signals from it to the home theater audio system..

I also have wires in the roof for a roof mount sat dish.

I did not have a "Ground mount' input

On a trailer I was working on last week.. It means there is a input "Jack" on the outside wall labeled "SAT" that is connected to a dedicated connector in the main TV area.

What Winegard recommends: Re-tasking the park-cable line for Sat TV..

I do not recommend that

What I recommend is a dedicated line, like that trailer I was working on last week. Direct from a "Through wall" (Bulkhead) or basement connection to either the sat receiver itself, or a wall plate labeled SAT in the proper area.

As for labeling.. Brother, always at your side (P-Touch) makes great labels

So does Avery Label Wizard with a good printer and the proper peal & stick.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 08:06 AM   #8
Sticks4748's Avatar
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54
Just bought and using a new DISH RV package. Start and stop at anytime, no contract, HD and ez to set up. so now when I have Cable for any length of time I discontinue DISH..
Rich Oliveria
Full Timer 9/22/10
'02 Monaco Windsor PBDD 41ft.
Sticks4748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,180
Good choce Sticks.. I'd like to do that myself. Though truth be told I get so much OTA that ... Well. I'm offering my Dome for sale used, but that's another post.

(I may replace it later when I again have need for it more than money)

I will say again (on topic) that the best way is to run RG-6 cable to either a bulkhead or basement connection (on my Intruder (A gasser) it's a ground block under the hood on the brake bracket) (I like B-words for the ground mount input cause I use an A/B switch to select between the dome up A- bove and the ground mount down B-elow)

I do not like re-taskign the park cable as Winegard recommends because o what you said bout "When I have cable' That's way too much trouble,, To switch from Sat to Cable.. I push one button, that's all.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 11:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
cb5300's Avatar
Monaco Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,167
I always find that I like my Sat TV better than the camp ground cable. I guess I'm use to the programing and I know where all my favorite programs are located...
Charles and Martha*2008 Monaco Signature
FMCA #F388752*GoodSam Life Member
2007 Ford Explorer - Toad
cb5300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:15 PM   #11
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,180
When it comes to park cable, or Over the air for that matter, I kind of cheat

Park cable.. I just make sure I have a good connection to the park WI-Fi and then I tell my Digital Video Recorders to downlaod the program guide.. Using their advanced search and destroy features I can quickly find the shows I want and set them to record.. Or I can tell the machine to "Record all shows with CSI in the title" if I wish.. Very powerful tool.

For Over the air TV Listings Guide, TV Ratings, TV News, TV Shows - Zap2it

They also let me search the local stations for all exmples of say Law & Order

Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions, questions! Hope you can help? Born2RV Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 08-31-2009 05:53 PM
In motion Satellite questions Fishwerkes Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 07-03-2009 10:53 PM
Frustrated Puting Up Tri-Pod Satellite Receiver and Solution Gordon MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 07-28-2005 10:13 AM
We need more satellite cable wiring - Any ideas Scooter Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 02-09-2005 01:42 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.