Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2016, 10:38 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
ARFFMAN's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hilton Head, SC
Posts: 469
How do I change the 12 volt always on?
__________________

__________________
2004 Newmar Dutch Star 4025 on Spartan chassis/370 Cummins. Allison 6 speed- 4 Slides
Retired Fire Fighter who won't retire, but getting close.
www.robinjesseneil.wordpress.com
ARFFMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2016, 11:12 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARFFMAN View Post
How do I change the 12 volt always on?
Some units supply 12 volts on the CAD cable all the time others turn if off with the key.

On the 6 pin connector pin C is the 12 volt supply and on the 9 pin connector
pin B is the supply voltage.

Cut the wire feeding the proper pin for your connector that supplies 12 volts to the Scan gauge and attach a wire to it with a feed thru 1 amp fuse to a 12 volt source that is live all the time.
The end results will be the wire suppling 12 volt on the CAD cable is cut and taped to avoid shorting and another 12 volt source that is always on will supply the 12 volts to the Scan gauge.
The power draw of the Scan gauge is so little it would take a very long time to have any effect on your battery so being on is not a problem.
__________________

__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faulty Fuel Gauge.......is Scan Gauge a good alternative? DGBPokes Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 9 07-06-2015 09:43 PM
Scan Gaue II or Scan Gauge E question wingtrike iRV2.com General Discussion 1 05-29-2015 03:42 PM
Scan Gauge II w/ x-gauge garykk Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 22 07-16-2013 10:28 PM
Scan Gauge II Bob (WA0MQE) Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 8 08-14-2007 02:23 PM
Scan Gauge jimlaurielucy Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 04-17-2007 07:01 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.