Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2015, 03:37 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
chawkins99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calera, AL
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
What is "Power-take-off set speed" ?
Power Takeoff (PTO) is the connection on the back of a tractor that provides power to the external equipment such as mowers.

I found it amusing!!!
__________________

__________________
Chris, Jo & Dell (Siberian Husky - 110lb of fur and muscle)
2003 Beaver Santiam 40DST - Cummins 330ISC
Closely followed by a 2012 Equinox AWD
chawkins99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-15-2015, 04:00 PM   #16
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by chawkins99 View Post
Power Takeoff (PTO) is the connection on the back of a tractor that provides power to the external equipment such as mowers.

I found it amusing!!!

Monaco forgot to put one of those on my Windsor!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:25 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
BRex45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 301
Not sure why PTO set speed would be amusing as most Allison trans have integral mounts for a PTO driven hydraulic pump that can run the radiator fan, the PS pump or both.
__________________
BRex

'97 Country Coach Intrigue
BRex45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:27 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
CampingCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 1,144
To read EGT you must have a probe installed in the exhaust (pre or post turbo). If your coach doesn't have a pyrometer you probably don't have the probe.
__________________
2011 40' Monaco Cayman PBQ ISC 360
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
CampingCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 05:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by znt1186 View Post
...be aware that you will have to reset the readouts you want every time you turn of the ignition.
UMMM...something must be wrong because that is not normal at all. I've had both the ScanGuage D and the one for my previous gasser and both always returned to the display I used last.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 06:16 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 352
Would like to access the trip MPG and miles to empty functions with the motor off 😎
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 10:29 AM   #21
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrob View Post
Would like to access the trip MPG and miles to empty functions with the motor off 😎

Makes sense! Have you contacted tech support to see if they can help you set it so it works without the engine running?
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 11:41 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Chaffeekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chaffee, MO.
Posts: 397
I've had the Scan gauge D for about 2 years, love it. Also do not have EGT available on my 300 ISB Cummins on my expedition. I have noted that the water temp never gets over about 197 even on a hot day pulling my Jeep Wrangler up and down the hills around Branson, Mo.
One time I saw it go to 207 if I remember right. Normally runs around 194. The dash gauge indicates half way between cold and normal, never normal.
Anyone else observe this on a small cummins engine, 5.9?
__________________
MGySgt USMC(R) 1961-1991
2001 Fleetwood Expedition
2013 Jeep Wrangler Sierra Toad
Chaffeekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 01:20 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
CampingCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 1,144
I ordered one yesterday from Advanced Auto. A 15% discount code was available but was not applied to the final order. Called & had it corrected, no problem. Got an e-mail from them this morning saying the order was cancelled ?
Called again to find out why. Apparently their warehouse didn't have it in stock so they ordered it directly from ScanGauge & had it shipped to my address. Gave me free shipping that was on the original order & another 10% discount. Final price was $133.41.
Hard to beat.
__________________
2011 40' Monaco Cayman PBQ ISC 360
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
CampingCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:14 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 569
I just have to turn my ignition to run and my I can access my info. No need to start engine.
__________________
2008 Thor, Four Winds Mandalay 40G. Cummins 400 isl. Freightliner chassis
koda59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 08:40 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
charles tuit's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: prescott az
Posts: 728
Just be advised on mine if you turn the engine off the MPG average goes back to zero. The display will return back to what you have previously. If you have a MH 2000 Allison 5 speed it will not read transmission temp.
__________________
Charlie Tuit, 2002 Journey, 32T, XL7 toad
charles tuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 09:08 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Chaffeekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chaffee, MO.
Posts: 397
You are right there Charlie, I sent a print out to ScanD and they reviewed it and also stated that the Trans Temp is not available on my Allison MH 2000 either. But I love the other functions and the fact that the read outs are digital, i.e., numbers instead of vague pointers on a gauge that really only tell that the needle is moving
A for instance, my water temp gauge shows half way between cold and normal, never normal. The ScanD shows a temp of 194, most of the time and sometimes up to 197 rarely above 200.
My oil pressure also reads about 64 psi when started from cold and runs about 40 psi, except when idling when it drops to around 25, I like the numbers. The GPH gallons per hour is useful, mpg is also useful. And yes the ScanD does retain memory, its just reading the manual and implementing what you have read
__________________
MGySgt USMC(R) 1961-1991
2001 Fleetwood Expedition
2013 Jeep Wrangler Sierra Toad
Chaffeekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 10:25 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Dale70's Avatar
 
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Palm Beach Gardens FL
Posts: 271
Can someone with a Cummins ISC 350 (2000 vintage) give me a general list of the readouts/functions that can be displayed?

I am also interested in MSHappyCampers feeling on how they like it and how it performs.

thx
Dale and Su
Palm Beach Gardens FL
2000 American Eagle
__________________
Dale70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 10:29 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
znt1186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
UMMM...something must be wrong because that is not normal at all. I've had both the ScanGuage D and the one for my previous gasser and both always returned to the display I used last.
Yeah, the something wrong is probably operator error. After reading these posts, I apparently don't have it programmed to save my settings. I will try to correct that situation.
__________________

__________________
znt1186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-53 Temperature gauge or idiot light Raining Star Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 16 10-15-2014 12:24 AM
ScanGuage II gr8grumpy Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 09-26-2014 06:05 PM
ScanGuage good deal online. noserider Class A Motorhome Discussions 37 09-13-2014 09:22 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.